Dates |
Schedule |
|
Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 15 -16 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Dec. 17 - 21 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Tuesday, Dec. 22 - Jan. 1, 2013 | CLOSED |
| Wednesday - Friday, Jan. 2 - 4 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Jan. 5 -6 | CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday Jan. 7, 2013
Get comfy and cozy in the Library Art Gallery with quilts made by our own IUS faculty and staff. The 5th Annual IUS Library Quilt Show opens today and runs through February 1st 2013.
Visitors can vote for their favorite quilt through January 23rd, and the highest vote-getters will receive gift certificates to Hobby Lobby during the reception on Friday, January 25th from 12pm-1pm.
The library will be having extended hours until exams are over. Limited services after 10p.m. Free coffee will be available after the Library Bistro closes for the evening Monday - Thursday during this time.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday - Thursday Dec. 3 -6 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Dec. 7 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Dec. 8 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Dec. 9 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday - Thursday Dec. 10 - 13 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Dec. 14 |
8 am - 5 pm |
As of Monday November 18, the new IUCAT is open to the world … with a brand new address: http://new.iucat.iu.edu/ius It is still a beta product, so we continue to work to make it better. Thanks for bearing with us while we continue development on all aspects of the interface. Some items coming soon:
- Additions to advanced search: publication date, publisher
- Call number browse and enhancements to the granularity available through the call number facet
- Access to Ask A Librarian and other patron support within the interface
- Easy access from the detailed bibliographic record to that same record within IUCAT Classic
For the latest news and information on the new IUCAT, visit the IUCAT Beta blog: https://blogs.libraries.iub.edu/iucatbeta/
Thanks to those of you who’ve provided many helpful comments thus far; please continue to let us know what you think! Send your comments, questions and suggestions via our feedback form.
Check out the new IUCAT at: http://new.iucat.iu.edu/ius
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday November 19 |
8 am - 10 pm |
| Tuesday - Wednesday November 20 - 21 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Thursday -Friday November 22 - 23 |
CLOSED |
| Saturday November 24 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Novermber 25 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
Normal hours resume Monday November 26.
The IUS Library is once again sponsoring a QUILT SHOW in our First Floor Gallery December 4th 2012 – February 1st 2013. Anyone connected to IU Southeast in some way, shape, or form (this includes grandmothers, mothers, uncles, cousins, etc.) is welcome to submit a hand- or machine-made quilt of any size.
Visitors will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite quilt; the highest vote-getters will receive gift certificates to Hobby Lobby.
Interested persons should fill out the entry form here: http://ius.edu/library/diglib/Quilt-Show-Entry-Form.doc, and bring the quilt with the entry form attached to the Library between November 26-30th.
Please contact Kate Moore at 941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu with any questions.
Thank you for considering entering!
| Date | Event | Time | Location | Contact |
| Nov. 1-16 | Artists Among Us | Library Hours | First Floor Art Gallery | kabmoore@ius.edu 812.941.2489 |
| Nov. 7 | Hispanic Connection | 12 noon | LB 230 | milturner@ius.edu 812.941.2189 |
| Nov. 9 | 2012 SOE/CCR Conference & Action Lab | 8 am | 3rd Floor Reading Gallery | claudiacrump@gmail.com |
| Nov. 9 | Open Book Discussion (Clara's Grand Tour by Glynis Ridley) | 12 noon | LB 230 | jfessard@ius.edu 812.941.2552 |
| Nov. 9 | Artists Among Us Reception | 12:00 noon - 1 pm | First Floor Art Gallery | kabmoore@ius.edu 812.941.2489 |
| Nov. 13 | Ecuador Study Abroad Presentation | 4 pm | 3rd Floor Reading Gallery | glomurra@ius.edu 812.941.2448 |
| Nov. 15 | Pyschology Club Presentation (Overcoming Mental Illness by Dr. Jim Jones) | 6 pm | 3rd Floor Reading Gallery | bryantjl@gmail.com |
| Nov. 22-23 | Library Closed for Thanksgiving |
The IU Southeast Library invites you to a reception for Artists Among Us on Friday, November 9th from 12-1pm in the IU Southeast Library Art Gallery (Lower Level).
The show features artwork created by amateur artists from the IU Southeast campus and includes the works of
Herb Caldwell, Assistant Professor of Theatre
Rebeka Anastasia Trapp, a senior in the BFA program
Christa Zorn, Professor of English
Cookies, coffee, and tea will be served during the reception.
Artists Among Us, a showcase of artwork created by amateur artists from the IU Southeast campus opens today, October 22nd, and runs through Friday November 16th. This show features the work of faculty members Herb Caldwell and Christa Zorn, and student Rebeka Anastasia Trapp. A reception for the artists will be held at a later date.
The IUS Library welcomes submissions for: Artists Among Us
An exhibition of artwork created by amateur artists from the IU Southeast campus. We hope that all amateur artists on campus will consider sharing their artwork with the campus community, including photography, drawing, painting, ceramics, textiles, or any other form of art.
Artwork will be on display in the Library’s First Floor Art Gallery October 22-November 16, 2012, with a closing reception to be held in November.
Submissions are due by Friday October 19th.
Please include an entry form with your submission.
Contact Kate Moore at 941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu with any questions.
| DATE | EVENT | TIME | LOCATION | CONTACT |
| Oct. 2 |
Banned Book Readout |
12:30 p.m. | 3rd Floor Reading Gallery | Maria Accardi maccardi@ius.edu 812.941.2551 |
| Oct. 3 |
Hispanic Connection | 12:00 noon | LB 230 | milturner@ius.edu 812.941.2189 |
| Oct. 8 |
Graduate BusinessOpen House |
6:30 p.m. | 3rd Floor Reading Gallery | krwells@ius.edu 812.941.2364 |
| Oct. 12 |
Open Book Discussion (That Distant Land by Wendell Berry) |
12:00 noon | LB 230 |
jfessard@ius.edu 812.941.2552 |
| Oct. 17 |
Dr. Cliff StatenCuba Presentation |
6:00 p.m. | 3rd Floor Reading Gallery | cstaten@ius.edu 812.941.2691 |
| Oct. 22 - Nov. 16 |
Amateur Artists of IUSoutheast Faculty & Staff |
Library Hours | First Floor Art Gallery | kabmoore@ius.edu 812.941.2489 |
The IU Southeast Library now provides access to two new databases that contain primary documents focused on political history in the Middle East: Iraq, 1914-1974 and Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970. Resources in these collections come from digitized British Government documents and other files in the UK national archives.
Iraq, 1914-1974 provides primary source documents on the Arab Uprising of 1920; the Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq; Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan; oil concessions and oil exploration, the rise of Ba’athism and Saddam Hussein, Iran-Iraq relations, and more.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 provides primary source documents on topics in Arab-Israeli relations including the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home; the Border wars of the 1950s; the Cold War in the Middle East; and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948.
The IU Southeast Library is happy to be able to offer The Shakespeare Collection: Featuring The Arden Shakespeare Complete Works, which is the subject's most comprehensive and authoritative online resource, bringing together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals (including Shakespeare studies, Shakespeare bulletin, Studies in English literature, 1500-1900, Medieval and Renaissance drama in England, Early modern literary studies), reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare complete works.
Still can’t get enough Shakespeare? Also check out Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare, which includes eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
The IU Southeast Library invites you to a reception for Elizabeth Raleigh’s art show, Clay – Two Different Directions on Friday, September 21st from 12-1pm in the IU Southeast Library Art Gallery (Lower Level). The show explores both the functional artistry of stoneware as well as the purely aesthetical sculpting of clay.
Cookies, coffee, and lemonade will be served during the reception.
In compliance with certain federal and state requirements, self-mailing forms that can be filled out to register to vote in Indiana are available at the IU Southeast Library. Find them at the Circulation Desk.
Voter registration forms are also available online at the Indiana Election Commission Web site: http://www.in.gov/sos/elections/2403.htm. and the U. S. Election Assistance Commission Web site: http://www.eac.gov/voter_resources/register_to_vote.aspx . To download and print the form you will need Adobe® Acrobat Reader®.
Registration Deadline: To register to vote or update your current registration by mail or in person, you will need to complete and return the Voter Registration Form 29 days prior to a Primary or General Election (on or before October 9, 2012 for the November General Election).
Next Friday the 14th at noon in the Library (back to our regular space) Open Books will discuss The Girl with the Dragon Tatto by Stieg Larsson. We will also discuss the movie versions, American and Swedish. The library has copies of both for checkout. See you there!
The IUS Library Art Gallery is proud to present the works of Elizabeth Raleigh, a fine arts faculty member at IU Southeast. Her show in the IUS Library Art Gallery (Lower Level of the Library) explores both the functional artistry of stoneware as well as the purely aesthetical sculpting of clay. Her show runs from August 27th through September 28th.
A reception with the artist will be held on Friday September 21st at 12pm.
The IU Southeast Library will be CLOSED MONDAY SEPTEMBER 3 in observance of labor Day. The Library will be OPEN Saturday 9 am - 5 pm and Sunday 12 noon - 6 pm. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday September 4.
The Library now has access to these fun databases:
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=hcrc
Provides access to written and video "how-to" instructions and creative ideas for hobby enthusiasts.
Home Improvement Reference Center: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=hirc
Through a collection of comprehensive full-text and video content, Home Improvement Reference Center provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering all manner of home improvement/repair projects.
Indiana History Online: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/inspire_alba_en?db=INDI
Indiana History Online provides access to primary sources focusing on the people, events, and places that made Indiana the state it is today. The collection is divided into five overarching subjects: “The Land,” “Life on the Frontier,” “Indiana as a Territory,” “Indiana as a State,” and “Using Primary Sources in the Classroom.” Each category contains a general essay that is organized alongside corresponding primary documents to enhance the use of the archived material.
Starting today, Business & Company Resource Center has transitioned to a more user-friendly, easier-on-the-eye interface with greater functionality as well! In the spirit of change, the name of this great business resource is now Business Insights: Essentials. Check out the new interface today at: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/iulib_se?db=BIE and let us know what you think!
The Library will be closed on Friday August 17 for an in-service day.
Dates |
Schedule |
| Tuesday - Friday, August 7 - 10 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, August 11- 12 | CLOSED |
| Monday - Thursday, August 13 - 16 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Friday - Sunday, August 17 - 19 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday , August 20 - 24 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, August 25 - 26 | CLOSED |
Open Books will meet Friday August 10 at Noon in the Curriculum Materials Center on the third floor of the Library to discuss The Trial by Franz Kafka
Open Books will meet Friday July 13 at Noon in the library to discuss Lady Susan by Jane Austen.
The Library will be CLOSED Wednesday July 4 in observance of Independence Day. Regular Hours will resume on Thursday July 5.
Dates |
Schedule |
| Thursday - Friday, June 21 - 22 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, June 23 - 24 |
CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday June 25
| Dates | Titles |
| July 13 | Lady Susan by Jane Austen |
| August 10 | The Trial by Franz Kafka |
| September 14 | Girl with the Dragon Tatoo by Steig Larsson |
| October 12 |
That Distant Land by Wendell Berry |
| November 9 |
Clara's Grand Tour by Glynis Ridley |
| December 14 |
Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman |
Open Books will meet Friday June 8 at 12 noon in the Library in Room 230. The title this month is The Road Back. A sequel to All Quiet on the Western Front, it is an incredibly touching story of comrades returning from years at war to a society that neither wants to accept nor help them in their search for a meaningful life after war. This lost generation goes through life seeing no more purpose in living. Remarque's incredible descriptive style leads the reader through turmoil in Germany, from food shortages, to political unrest, suicide, and murder, and yet at the same time he makes pauses to simply show some of the beauty left in the world. (from amazon.com)
The Library will be CLOSED Monday May 28 in observance of Memorial Day. The Library will be OPEN normal operating hours on Saturday May 26 and Sunday May 27.
Please join us on Friday, May 18th from 5-7pm for an opening reception for Monsters and Entities – Small Drawings by Thaniel Ion Lee. Lee is an IU Southeast alumni and the show features 18 small drawings of monsters and other entities. The show will be on display in the IUS Library Art Gallery from May 14th through July 9th.
Cookies, tea, coffee, and lemonade will be served at the reception.
Dates |
Schedule |
| Wednesday - Friday, May 2 - 4 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, May 5 - 6 |
CLOSED |
| Monday, May 7 |
8 am - 5 pm |
Regular hours resume Tuesday May 8
Midnight hours in the Library begin on Monday April 16 and end Monday April 30. The complete schedule for this period is below:
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday - Thursday Apr. 16 - 19 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Apr. 20 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Apr. 21 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Apr. 22 | 12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday - Thursday Apr. 23 - 26 | 8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Apr. 27 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Apr. 28 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday April 29 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday April 30 |
8 am - Midnight |
Intersession hours will begin Tuesday May 1.
Open Books is pleased to announce the return of Nancy Totten as our leader for the discussion on To End All Wars by Adam Hochschild. Hope to see you in the Library (LB 230) at Noon!
Please join us on Friday, March 9th from 12-1pm in a closing reception to honor colleagues and friends whose quilts are currently on display in the IUS Library Art Gallery in the 4th Annual IUS Library Quilt Show. Cookies, tea, coffee, and lemonade will be served.
Open Books will meet on Friday March 9 at 12 noon to discuss Seal Woman by Solveig Egertz in LB 230.
Open Books will meet on Friday February 10 at 12 noon to discuss The Help by Kathryn Sockett in LB 230.
Come check out the absolutely fabulous quilts made by our own IUS faculty, staff, students, and their friends and family now through March 9th. Visitors will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite quilt through March 7th, and the highest vote-getters will receive gift certificates to Hobby Lobby! Please also mark your calendars for our reception to honor participants on March 9th at noon.
The Library will be CLOSED on Monday January 16 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday January 17.
The IUS Library is once again sponsoring a quilt show in our First Floor Gallery from January 25-March 9, 2012.
Anyone connected to IU Southeast in some way, shape, or form (this includes grandmothers, mothers, uncles, cousins, etc.) is welcome to submit a hand- or machine-made quilt of any size
Visitors will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite quilt; the highest vote-getters will receive gift certificates to Hobby Lobby.
Interested persons should fill out the entry form here http://ius.edu/library/diglib/2012-Quilt-Show-Entry-Form.doc, and bring the quilt with the entry form attached to the Library between Jan. 18-20, 2012.
Please contact Kate Moore at 941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu with any questions.
Please join us on Friday, January 20th from 12-1pm in a closing reception to honor the artists whose works are currently on display in the IUS Library Art Gallery in the Altered Book Narrative show. Cookies, tea, coffee, and lemonade will be served.
About the Altered Book Narrative Show:
These works were inspired by the book sculptures of British artist, Su Blackwell. Drawing inspiration from their favorite fictional stories or personal memories, current IUS Fine Arts foundation students created their own personal narratives through paper. Employing a repurposed book as stage and material, each work expresses an individualized handling of material and sensitivity to space and object. These miniature worlds are full of small and hidden details which beckon the viewer to engage in a close exploration.
Open Books will meet in the Library on Friday January 13 at noon. The title to be discussed this month is The Great Gatsby. Click here to see the schedule for the rest of the Spring semester.
Project Muse, the go-to place for scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences has recently updated its site to include eBooks from a number of scholarly publishers, including Indiana University Press. While IUS students, faculty and staff don’t have access to all of these eBooks, the newly re-designed site makes searching for scholarly content we do have access to much easier--search boxes on every page, facets to narrow your search by subject, author, and more, and the ability to find related content with a single click.
Check out the new Project Muse today at : https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://proxyse.uits.iu.edu/login?url=https://muse.jhu.edu/ or take a look at Project Muse’s YouTube channel for video guides on the new interface: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bhldo-sLktk&feature=youtu.be.
The IUS Library Art Gallery has the following show up through January 20th: ALTERED BOOK NARRATIVE
These works were inspired by the book sculptures of British artist, Su Blackwell. Drawing inspiration from their favorite fictional stories or personal memories, current IUS Fine Arts foundation students created their own personal narratives through paper. Employing a repurposed book as stage and material, each work expresses an individualized handling of material and sensitivity to space and object. These miniature worlds are full of small and hidden details which beckon the viewer to engage in a close exploration.
A closing reception will be held January 20th from 12-1pm.
Dates |
Titles |
| January 13 | The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald |
| February 10 | The Help by Kathryn Stockett |
| March 9 |
Seal Woman bySolveig Eggerz |
| April 13 |
To End All Wars by Adam Hochchild |
| May 11 | We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates |
| June 8 |
The Road Back by Erich Maria Remarque |
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 17 -18 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Dec. 19 - 23 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Monday, Dec. 24 - Jan. 2, 2012 | CLOSED |
| Tuesday - Friday, Jan. 3 - 6 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Jan. 8 - 9 | CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday Jan. 9, 2012