Skip to main content

List of all IU Southeast Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
The American Economic Association (AEA) publishes nine journals, including The American Economic Review, a general-interest economics journal that is among the nation's oldest and most respected scholarly journals in economics. AEA is providing open access to all journal content on the AEA website through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
Annual Reviews is dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. It has a collection of 46 review series in specific disciplines in science and social science. Articles in all Annual Reviews journals are freely available through at least April 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
Berghahn has opened up access to all 38 of their journals in the humanities and social sciences. Access to Berghahn Journals is freely available through June 30, 2020.to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
Provides access to scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s Academic division. Spanning the arts, humanities and social sciences, the site features the latest research publications from Bloomsbury, T&T Clark, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing, alongside scholarship from historic imprints Continuum, Berg and Bristol Classical Press. Access to Bloomsbury Collection is is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
New
This collection consists of reports, studies, and surveys prepared by the Department of State on the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), created between 1941-1961.
Trial
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals across humanities, social sciences, and more. Access to Duke University Press' ebooks and journals is freely available through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
Duke University Press reading lists present staff-curated lists of journal articles & journal issues on today's issues, including environmentalism and climate change; feminist politics and women’s rights; global immigration; navigating the threat of pandemic; police violence; prison and the carceral state; racial justice; trans rights; women's labor. All journal articles and issues in these reading lists are freely available online until September 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
GeoScienceWorld is a comprehensive resource of eBooks for researchers in the earth sciences. American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Canadian Science Publishing, Clay Minerals Society, Geological Society of America, Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, PSAAPG, SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology, Society of Economic Geologists, and University of Wyoming are making their ebooks on GeoScienceWorld freely available through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
.
Trial
HathiTrust Digital Library is the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries - under the aims of scholarly interests.
Indiana University students, faculty, and staff can log in (select Indiana University as your partner institution) to HathiTrust to read copyrighted titles in the collection that IU Libraries owns in print format. Users can read the book online in a web browser, but will not be able to download the work in full. Check out periods are in one-hour increments, which can be extended as long as another user has not requested access. The books accessed through Emergency Temporary Access Service are made available under the fair use sections of the United States Copyright Act. Copyright protections still exist for many of these books.
New
The Justice Department and U.S. Attorney records within this collection primarily concern the U.S. government's prosecution of Indian nationalists in the "Hindu Conspiracy Case" (as it was called in the press and Department of Justice correspondence) for violations of the Espionage Act.
New
Provides access to alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
New
Independent India's first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
New
Provides access to State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 covering the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia. Topics covered in this collection include political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government administration, fiscal and monetary issues, national defense, foreign policy-making, wars and alliances, religion, culture, trade, industry, natural resources, and more.
New
For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.
Trial
The National Emergency Library is a collection of over 1.4 million books digitized by the Internet Archive. The majority of these books were published between 1920-1990, and are unavailable as an ebook elsewhere. Access to the full text of these books requires a free account which can be set up here: "https://archive.org/account/signup. With this free account, you can check out up to 10 books at a time. Additional information about the National Emergency Library is available here. The National Emergency Library will be freely available through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
JoVE Biology Lab Manual is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused videos for introductory biology lab courses. Access to JoVE Biology Lab Manual is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
JoVE Chemistry Lab Manual is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused videos for introductory chemistry lab courses. Access to JoVE Chemistry Lab Manual is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
JoVe Core Biology is a video textbook that can be used as a primary teaching resource or supplement to teaching materials. Access to JoVE Core Biology is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
JoVe Core Social Psychology is a video textbook that can be used as a primary teaching resource or a supplement to teaching materials. Access to JoVE Core Social Psychology is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
JoVE Science Education is a video library of simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations in biology, chemistry, physics, environmental sciences, psychology, and other STEM fields) that helps teach scientific fundamentals. Access to JoVE Science Education is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
New
This collection includes correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia between 1864-1918. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.
New
This collection includes correspondence and telegrams received and sent by American diplomats, as well as records of American citizens and companies with relations to Liberia, from World War I through 1935. Covers related to economic and commercial affairs, including the export of agricultural produce, details on quarantine restrictions from various U.S. agencies, as well as records of advertising media in Africa, such as newspapers and trade publications in French and Portuguese.
New
Provides access to legal treatises covering nearly every aspect of American and British law. It features casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other works from the most influential writers and key legal thinkers of the time.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
New
This collection includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832-1978.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Trial
MGG Online provides access to the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008) along with new and substantially updated content. It includes over 19,000 articles written by more than 3,500 of the world authorities in all areas of music. Access to MGG Online is is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
MIT Press Direct provides access to the complete collection of more than 2,500 ebooks published by MIT Press. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. Access to MIT Press Direct is is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
The National Emergency Library is a collection of over 1.4 million books digitized by the Internet Archive. The majority of these books were published between 1920-1990, and are unavailable as an ebook elsewhere. Access to the full text of these books requires a free account which can be set up here: "https://archive.org/account/signup. With this free account, you can check out up to 10 books at a time. Additional information about the National Emergency Library is available here. The National Emergency Library will be freely available through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
NewspaperArchive provides access to more than 400 years of newspapers, obituaries, and family history records from 32 countries and all 50 states.
Access to NewspaperArchive is freely available through May 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
Ohio State University Press has opened up access to all scholarly monographs and its Language Files linguistics textbook, now in its twelfth edition and widely adopted across the world. The monographs and Language Files in this collection are open and free to use. A list of the open titles in this collection is available here. Access to Ohio State University Press Publications is freely available through May 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
New
This collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
New
Fannie Lou Hamer was an voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. This primary source collection sourced from the Amistad Research Center contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
Trial
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 40,000 regularly updated indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Access to PolicyMap is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
Numerous publishers including Johns Hopkins University Press, University of North Carolina, and Temple University Press have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available . A list of publishers who are participating is available here. IU Southeast subscribes to the "Standard Collection" of Project Muse journals.
Trial
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive, international bibliography of current and past literature on classical, traditional, and popular music, historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, instruments and voice, and dance written in over 140 languages. It features citations, abstracts, and indexes supplemented with full-text content from over 200 key music periodicals. Coverage includes journal articles, reviews, and other featured content, obituaries, essay collections, conference reports, festschrifts, monographs, and dissertations primarily from the early 20th century to the present, with some pre-1900 titles.
Access to RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
RILM Music Encyclopedias is an ever-expanding full-text compilation of reference works, currently including 57 titles published from 1775 to the present. This global resource provides comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of the most important fields and subject areas of historical musicology, ethnomusicology, and theory, with topics ranging from popular music and rock, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, to recorded music and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages. Access to RILM Music Encyclopedias is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
RIPM Jazz Periodicals was untaken with the collaboration of the Institute of Jazz Studies of Rutgers University which houses the largest collection of jazz periodicals in the world. RIPM Jazz Periodicals currently contains 105 jazz periodicals. Access to RIPM Jazz Periodicals is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
RIPM Preservation Series: European & North American Music Periodicals
RIPM Preservation Series: European & North American Music Periodicals is a unique collection of primary source music periodicals not covered in RIPM Retrospective Index with Full Text. Access to RIPM Preservation Series: European & North American Music Periodicals is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is a unique collection of primary source material and periodicals for the study of music and musical life from 1760 to 1966. It provides resources not found in any library, including complete runs of numerous periodicals pieced together from many different collections. Access to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is freely available through May 31, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 5,500 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the social sciences. Access to Sage Knowledge is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
SAGE Research Methods Video includes tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Collections include: practical research & academic skills; data science, big data analytic, & digital methods; and market research. Access to Sage Research Methods Video is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic..
Trial
SAGE Video showcases educational videos across key social science disciplines, including: business and management; counseling and psychotherapy; criminal justice; and education. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. Access to Sage Research Methods Video is freely available through June 15, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
New
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness.
Trial
U.S. Documents Masterfile provides access to American public documents and federally-funded research reports from 1774 to present day. Access to U.S. Documents Masterfile is freely available through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
The University of California Press publishes scholarly journals in the following subject disciplines: Architecture, Area Studies, Art and Visual Culture, Biology, California and the West, Classics, Communication Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Environmental Science, Film and Media, Food Studies, Global Studies, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Law, Literature and Criticism, Music, Politics, Psychology, Religion, Research Methods, and Sociology.
Access to University of California Press titles is freely available through June 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Trial
The University of Michigan Press has opened up access to all of their 1,150+ monographs on their platform. Included in the collection are over 200 titles used in student courses and almost 300 award-winners. Strengths include political science and public (including health) policy, performing arts, classical and medieval studies, American studies, and Area studies (especially East Asian, African, and German studies). Access to University of Michigan Press titles is freely available through April 30, 2020 to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Loading...
Loading...

Loading...
title
Loading...