LibGuides: War and Memory HIST J-495: Finding Primary Sources

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred, or well after events occurred. Primary sources may include:

letters
manuscripts
diaries
journals
oral histories
newspapers
speeches
interviews
memoirs
government documents
photographs
audio recordings
video recordings

These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past. When they are used along with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research.

Primary source databases available via IUS Library:

Historical New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.
Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.

Primary source tools online

Kentuckiana Digital Library
Includes digital collections about Kentucky, including oral histories, newspapers, photographs, and finding aids for archival collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections (previously called Library of Congress: American Memory)
A digital collection of documents, images, and sound recordings related to the American experience.
National Security Archive
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository
OAIster
Union catalog of digital resources
WWII Propaganda Films and IU
This website provides access to 117 digitized public domain WWII films spanning the years 1940-1945. The original 16mm film prints were produced during the war by government agencies and offices in the United States and allied countries, Hollywood studios, and independent companies such as General Motors. The films were then distributed by university film libraries, school systems, and commercial distributors to students, workers, and other members of the public. Indiana University distributed these films as teaching and training aids during and after the war years as part of the Indiana University Bureau of Audio-Visual Aids (later the Indiana University Audio-Visual Center).
Yale University Avalon Project, World War II Documents
The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Associate Librarian

Melanie Hughes

Email Me

Subjects: children's literature, education