LibGuides: Library Resources for Chemistry: Reference Resources

Reference Books

All Reference books are located at the front of the Library on the main floor, directly behind the Reference Desk. If you need help, the Reference Librarian at the desk will gladly assist.

Reference Resources

Chemistry Reference books have call numbers ranging from QD4 to QD 500. (This is true of the circulating books on the third floor as well.) As an IUS student, you also have access to chemistry reference databases. Below are some reference titles you may find useful:

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Reference QD65 .H3 (Earlier editions on the 3rd floor)
Includes physical constants such as melting point, boiling point, density, solubility, vapor pressure, heat capacity, magnetic susceptibility, index of refraction, etc.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Reference QD246 .D5
Includes chemical, structural, and bibliographic information on organic compounds, including names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry numbers, physical properties, and key literature citations.
The Merck index
Reference RS51 .M4
Includes information on melting points, boiling points, specific rotations, solubility, and density of compounds.

e-EROS (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis) This link opens in a new window
A database of around 70,000 reactions and more than 4,000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and catalysts, and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type and experimental conditions.

ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
A free online database of millions of chemical structures and their associated information. Includes information freely available on the web as well as links to subscription databases of chemical structures, some of which IUS has access to.