The Library will be CLOSED from Friday December 24, 2010 through Sunday January 2, 2011. The Library will reopen on Monday January 3, 2011. Library databases are available to all users with valid IU Southeast user names and passwords. IUCAT is availabe with limited features during this period. For mor informtion about IUCAT, click here
The IUS Library invites all staff, faculty, students and community members to join us for cookies, coffee, and lemonade as we honor your colleagues and friends at a reception for the 2010 IUS LIBRARY QUILT SHOW. Tuesday December 14th, 12 noon-1pm, Library First Floor Gallery.
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 11 -12 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Dec. 13 - 17 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 18 - 19 |
CLOSED |
| Monday -Thursday, Dec. 20 - 23 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Thursday - Sunday, Dec. 24 - Jan. 2 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Jan. 3 - 7, 2011 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Jan. 8 - 9 | CLOSED |
Our selection this month is If You Lived Here, I’d Know Your Name by Heather Lende . Our discussion will be lead by Regina Hollis and the author herself! (via Skype, not in person). So join us at noon (EST) in the Library Room 230.
We are pleased to let you know that we now subscribe to ACLS Humanities E-Book!
This electronic resource includes almost 2800 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching. A cataloging record for each book in the collection will soon appear in IUCAT with a link to the online text.
The project includes both in-print and out-of print books and adds 500 titles a year. It is a collaboration of the American Council of Learned Societies, various constituent member learned societies of the ACLS (http://www.humanitiesebook.org/societies.html) and over 100 publishers.
There will be a free Moonlight Breakfast in the Library on Monday, Dec. 6, from 9:00 – 10:30 pm (yes, in the evening!). While supplies last we will be serving mini pancakes w/butter & syrup, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, hash browns, bacon, juice, COFFEE, and water. Drop in or come by after class!
The hours of the library during the Thanksgiving Break are:
Monday Nov. 22 8am - 10 pm
Tuesday Nov. 23 8am - 5pm
Wednesday Nov. 24 8m - 5pm
Thursday Nov. 25 CLOSED
Friday Nov. 26 CLOSED
Saturday Nov. 27 9am - 5pm
Sunday Nov. 28 12noon - 6pm
From December 18 - Jan. 3 IUCAT will learn new languages. Limited access to IUCAT will be available during Unicode conversion. For more information click on this link.
Dates |
Titles |
| December 10 | If You Lived Here , I’d Know Your Name by Heather Lende |
| January 14 | The Island at the Center of the World by Russell Shorto |
| February 11 | Bone Crack by Dick Francis |
| March 11 | Are You Somebody by Nuala O'Faolain |
| April 8 | Passing by Nella Larson |
| May 13 | Under the Greenwood Tree by Thomas Hardy |
| June 10 | Emma by Jane Austen |
Why does information cost so much, and what can librarians do to challenge the online resource publishers’ assumption that they can always “charge what the market will bear?” In this talk, the IUS Library's own Kate Moore, Assistant Librarian and Coordinator of Electronic Resources, will discuss the findings of a study conducted looking at the amount of publicly available information about pricing on publisher websites and discuss how a lack of transparency in publisher pricing adversely affects faculty access to information. It will close with a discussion on open access opportunities on the IU campus. Come share your thoughts on open access and how it affects your research! Come join the discussion on Monday November 15 12:15- 1:15 in LB 230.
Open Books will meet Friday, November 12th at noon in the Library to discuss The Trojan Women by Euripides. Our discussion will be led by Tresa Reynolds, IUS Lecturer in English.
Come check out the absolutely fabulous quilts made by our own IUS faculty, staff, students, and their friends and family now through January 7th. Visitors will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite quilt through Dec. 9th, and the highest vote-getters will receive gift certificates to Hobby Lobby! Please also mark your calendars for our reception to honor participants on December 14th at noon.
Due to the unexpectedly huge popularity of QuizWhiz, LexisNexis has decided to close the contest early. We hope that you honed your research skills early to earn your gift cards! If you're still yearning for LexisNexis search tips, check out LexisNexis' YouTube channel here: http://www.youtube.com/user/LexisNexisAcademic#p/a/u/1/hMdNkniUmBc for quick how-to video guides on finding a variety of LexisNexis content.
If you transferred from another college, are studying in the United States for the first time, or are returning to college after many years, come learn about the IUS Library and its resources, ask questions about specific research needs you might have, and meet friendly librarians who are here to help you be a success at IUS!
| Transfer Students |
Tue, Oct 26, 5:00-6:00 pm Wed, Oct 27, 12:15-1:15 pm |
| International Students |
Mon, Nov 1,12:15-1:15 pm Tue, Nov 2, 5:00-6:00 pm |
| Adult Students |
Mon, Nov 8, 12:15-1:15 pm Tue, Nov 9, 5:00-6:00 pm |
Space is limited, so RSVP to chengh@ius.edu to guarantee your seat! Walk-ins are also welcome.
See you in the Library Instruction Lab, LB 235!
The IUS Library is pleased to announce that access is now available to Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database. The librarians here at IUS think it’s a pretty nifty resource for finding reviews for thousands of children’s books, but don’t take our word for it, hear what other people have had to say:
“CLCD is the easiest place to find book reviews. Having the full text of many reviews from so many different sources in one place for each title is a great time-saver. I also love the ability to limit by age or grade level.” --Christina M. Desai, Southern Illinois University
“[My students] are pretty darned impressed.” --Janice M. Del Negro, Dominican University
Join us for the first A Little Knowledge of the academic year on Tuesday Oct. 12 12:15pm - 1:15 pm in LB 230! Kyle Forinash, physics professor, will summarize what we know about global climate changes in the past 800,000 years and how we know about these changes. He will then talk about human-caused changes to the atmosphere and the effects this is having and is expected to have on the current climate. He will close with some suggestions about what we might do about human caused climate change. This is sure to be a fascinating discussion, so be sure to join us!
Open Books is next Friday, October the 8th at Noon in the Library, room 230. We will be discussing All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque. Dr. Christa Zorn will be leading our discussion. See you there!
The IUS Library is once again sponsoring a QUILT SHOW in our First Floor Gallery Oct. 26-Jan 7. Anyone connected to IU Southeast in some way, shape, or form (this includes grandmothers, mothers, uncles, cousins, etc.) is welcome to submit a hand- or machine-made quilt of any size. Visitors will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite quilt from the opening through Dec. 9th; the highest vote-getters will receive gift certificates to Hobby Lobby. Interested persons should fill out the entry form, and bring the quilt with the entry form to the Library between Oct. 20-22, 2010. For more information, please contact Kate Moore at 941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu. Thank you for considering entering!
It was decided that our old Article & Database Search page was too unwieldy to manage, and so we've moved our listing of all of our databases and database broken out by subject to a whole new interface--one that you might have seen before if you've ever used a library LibGuide. This way, we can provide an easier way to find which databases are useful for your research, while at the same time, making it easier on us to change and add new databases! Check out our more specific Databases by Subject here: http://libguides.ius.edu/subjectdatabases. And let us know what you think by leaving a comment the “What happened??” page!
Now through November 15th, you can participate in Quiz Whiz, a student competition in which you answer multiple choice trivia questions using LexisNexis Academic. Each correct answer earns you points that can be redeemed for gift cards to a variety of national retailers. (See Official Rules for information about eligibility.)
To get started, register at the LexisNexis Quiz Whiz website, and use LexisNexis Academic to find an answer to the weekly trivia question posted. (LexisNexis is also available from the library’s Article & Database page under “L.”) LexisNexis Academic can be used to find legal, business, and news information, so it’s a great database to check out anyway (even if you want to sit this competition out). For tips on searching in LexisNexis, check out their YouTube video.
Don’t fret! All that biographical information that you’ve been searching for using Biography Resource Center is still available. It’s just become even more accessible with the new look and name of Biography in Context. With Biography in Context, you can dig even deeper into the lives of over 300,000 people; results include not only background information, but also video, audio, and additional resources about whoever you’re researching. Don’t delay, check it out today!
Stop despairing that you’re not able to cite Wikipedia in your classes, and instead rejoice in the fact that Encyclopedia Britannica, that venerable book of knowledge you grew up with, has had a metamorphosis into an easily searchable, virtual (and citable**) encyclopedia of facts, figures, and background info on a myriad of topics. This newly improved resource also packs articles with images, videos, and statistics for use in your presentations and papers. Not only do you want to start your research early, but make sure you start your research in Encyclopedia Britannica!
**some restrictions may apply, consult with your professor before using in research papers.
The IUS Library invites all staff, faculty, students and community members to the OPENING RECEPTION on Monday September 13th at 6:30pm in the Library First Floor Gallery for "The Womanly Art: Works of Art Inspired by Breastfeeding," a traveling art show promoting the normalization of breastfeeding and the image of nursing moms in society. Please join us in celebrating these wonderful works of art and enjoy some cookies, coffee, and lemonade. This exhibit will be on display until Friday, October 8th in the Library First Floor Gallery.
The next meeting of Open Books will be this Friday (9/10) at 12 noon in the Library Conference Room (LB230). We will be discussing Liar's Poker by Michael Lewis.
The Library will be closed on Monday September 6 in observance of the Labor Day holiday. The library will be open its regular hours for Saturday and Sunday Septermber 4-5.
Get your semester off to a winning start at the IUS Library Game Night, August 27, 6pm-9pm, on the third floor. Join us for free pizza, Wii, board games, and fun!
Students, faculty, and staff of IUS now have access to a great resource for finding primary source materials from American history. Annals of American History contains speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images, and multimedia dating from Christopher Columbus’ explorations to President Barack Obama’s inaugural address. Explore primary sources by topic, author, or time period, or search for particular document. Just make sure to check it out!
Only Call Number searching will be available in IUCAT from 6pm Friday August 13 until 10 am Sunday August 15 due to routine maintenance.
The Library will be closed on Friday August 13 for a staff in-service day. The Library will reopen on Monday August 16 at 8:00 am.
Dates |
Schedule |
| Tuesday - Thursday, August 10 - 12 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Friday - Sunday, August 13- 15 | CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, August 16 - 20 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, August 21 - 22 | CLOSED |
Regular hours begin Monday August 23
Just in time for school, Gale has updated its Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center and changed names to Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Loaded with additional features, Opposing Viewpoints in Context is still your go-to database for access to both sides of controversial debates on topics like stem cell research, genetically modified food, and more. Check it out for yourself, and if you have any unanswered questions, contact us!
Each year the IUS Library sponsors a Fine Arts Competition for all students enrolled at IUS. The works deemed best by an independent judge are then purchased by the Library to become a permanent part of its collection. Please come and check out a selection of our IUS Fine Arts Competition collection--there’s some really great works by current and former IUS student artists! The First Floor Gallery is open all the hours that the Library is open.
Open Books will meet Friday August 6 at noon to discuss Little Bee by Chris Cleve in Room LB230.
The Wiley Database will be unavailable from 4 am Saturday August 7 until 12 noon Sunday August 8 due to a system upgrade.
All students, faculty, and staff now have access to several new databases in health sciences, general science, and military history through an agreement between the Indiana State Library and Gale. Check these out!
Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module)
Provides full-text access to medical and and general-interest journals and periodicals, newspapers, and reference works on a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Also includes some streaming videos, and a directory for accessing contact information for clinics, medical centers, and foundations.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to the full text and images of nursing, allied health and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, and reference books.
Military and Intelligence Database
A collection of over 400 full-text journals, covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, and the structure of armed forces.
Nursing Resource Center
An online resource for beginning LPN, LVN, ADN, RN, and BSN students with information on diagnoses, treatments, and care for patients.
Science Resource Center
A popular science database that includes reference resources, journal and periodical articles, multimedia, and vetted web links. Science Resource Center includes topical overviews, biographies, and experiments in the the major science disciplines: Life Science, Physical Science, and Earth and Space Science, as well as the History of Science and Science and Society.
The IUS Library invites all staff, faculty, students and community members to the CLOSING RECEPTION on Friday July 9th 6-8pm Library First Floor Gallery for "The Light of Serendipity", works by John Guenther, Professor Emeritus of Fine Arts Kiln-formed glass with patterned color and freeform designs and "Works from the Appalachian Center for Craft, Smithville, TN." This exhibit highlights the diverse works of Professor Curtiss Brock, who is head of the glass program at Tennessee Technological University, and his students. Please join us in celebrating these wonderful works of art and enjoy some cookies, coffee, and lemonade.
| Dates | Schedule |
|---|---|
| Saturday, July 3 | CLOSED |
| Sunday, July 4: | CLOSED |
| Monday, July 5: |
CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Tuesday July 6
Indiana University Southeast Library has purchased an online subscription to ScienceDirect, which includes campus-wide (and remote) access to over 2,100 journals published by Elsevier. Articles in these journals are available directly through searching ScienceDirect (from our Article & Database Search page), through links from SciFinder Scholar, Biosis Previews (Biological Abstracts) and other databases, and from our Full-text Journals A-Z List and IUCAT (by journal title only). Coverage includes access to journal issues from 1995 (when applicable) to the most current issue.
| Dates | Schedule |
|---|---|
| Wednesday - Friday, June 23 - 24: | 8 AM - 5 PM |
| Saturday & Sunday, June 26 & 27: |
Closed |
Regular hours resume Monday June 28, 2010.
The Library will be hosting two exhibits during the Glass Art Society's 40th Annual Conference:
"The Light of Serendipity"
Works by John Guenther, Professor Emeritus of Fine Arts Kiln-formed glass with patterned color and freeform designs
"Works from the Appalachian Center for Craft, Smithville, TN"
This exhibit will highlight the diverse works of Professor Curtiss Brock, who is head of the glass program at Tennessee Technological University, and his students.
The Glass Art Society is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to "encourage excellence, to advance education, to promote the appreciation and development of the glass arts, and to support the worldwide community of artists who work with glass." GAS will be having its annual conference in Louisville, Ky June 10-12, and there will be associated exhibitions of works of glass artists all over Louisville and Southern Indiana . IU Southeast is hosting several of these exhibitions, including in the Ogle Center and the Library Gallery. The exhibits in the Library will be available for viewing any time the Library is open from June 8 through July 9.
IUCAT will be unavailable from 6:00 pm Friday, May 28, 2010 to 10:00 am Sunday May 30, 2010 for scheduled maintenance.
| Dates | Schedule |
|---|---|
| Saturday, May 29: | 9 AM - 5 PM |
| Sunday, May 30: | 12 NOON - 6 PM |
| Monday, May 31: | CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Tuesday, June 1, 2010.
| Dates | Schedule |
|---|---|
| Wednesday - Friday, May 5-7: | 8 AM - 5 PM |
| Saturday & Sunday, May 8 & 9: | Closed |
| Monday, May 10: | 8 AM - 5 PM |
Regular hours resume Tuesday, May 11, 2010.
The IUS Library sponsors a monthly book discussion group called OPEN BOOKS, which welcomes members of the community as well as IUS staff members, students, and faculty. Regular attendees include several people from each of those categories, and that variety of viewpoints invariably makes for interesting and lively discussion, no matter what book is under examination.
We'd like to again invite everyone--staff, faculty, students, and community members-- to join us on the second Friday of each month at noon in the Library (Room LB230), to enjoy coffee, lemonade, cookies, and good conversation. You don't have to make a regular commitment; you can come to as many or as few meetings as you like. Here is a list of the books we will be reading for the rest of this year:
| June 11 | Charing Cross Road by Helen Hanff |
|---|---|
| July 9 | When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops? by George Carlin |
| August 6 | Little Bee by Chris Cleve |
| September 10 |
Liar’s Poker by Michael Lewis |
| October 8 |
All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque |
| November 12 |
The Trojan Women by Euripides |
| December 10 |
If You Lived Here , I’d Know Your Name by Heather Lende |
IU Southeast Library • Circulation (812) 941-2485 • Reference (812) 941-2489 • Library Site Map & Access Features