The IUS Library Art Gallery has the following show up through January 20th: ALTERED BOOK NARRATIVE
These works were inspired by the book sculptures of British artist, Su Blackwell. Drawing inspiration from their favorite fictional stories or personal memories, current IUS Fine Arts foundation students created their own personal narratives through paper. Employing a repurposed book as stage and material, each work expresses an individualized handling of material and sensitivity to space and object. These miniature worlds are full of small and hidden details which beckon the viewer to engage in a close exploration.
A closing reception will be held January 20th from 12-1pm.
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Saturday - Sunday, Dec. 17 -18 |
CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, Dec. 19 - 23 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Monday, Dec. 24 - Jan. 2, 2012 | CLOSED |
| Tuesday - Friday, Jan. 3 - 6 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, Jan. 8 - 9 | CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday Jan. 9, 2012
Next week! Friday, December 9th in the Library at noon. Quaker Witness by Irene Allen.
The library will be having extended hours until exams are over. Limited services after 10p.m. Free coffee will be available after the Library Bistro closes for the evening Monday - Thursday during this time.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday - Thursday Dec. 5 - 8 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Dec. 9 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Dec. 10 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Dec. 11 |
12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday - Thursday Dec. 12 - 15 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Dec. 16 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday Dec. 17 - 18 |
CLOSED |
The winners of the International Photo Contest, which was on display on the main floor of the IUS Library during International Education Week (Nov. 14-18th) have been announced. The winners for this year’s “Critic’s Choice” were chosen by Dr. Anne Allen, Professor of Fine Arts, and Jonathan Ruth, Fine Arts Instructor in digital photography, and they are:
People Category: Jason A. Kumabe’s “Chasing a Geisha”
Places Category: Michael Richmond’s “Catch of the Day”
This year’s winners of the “People’s Choice” awards are:
People Category: Michael Gott’s “End of Mission”
Places Category: Emily Reinen’s “Eiffel par Nuit”
Congratulations to our winners, and thank you to everyone who participated!
| Dates | Schedule |
| Monday Nov. 21 | 8 am - 10 pm |
| Tuesday - Wednesday Nov. 22 - 23 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Thursday - Friday Nov. 24 - 25 | CLOSED |
| Saturday Nov. 26 | 9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Nov. 27 | 12 noon - 6 pm |
Regular hours resume Monday November 28.
Our Open Books discussion for this month is on Friday, November 11th at noon . Our book is False Papers by Andre Aciman. Our discussion will be lead by Christa Zorn . We will meet in the Library, Room 230. Hope to see you there!
Grand Purchase Prize: Rebeka Anastasia Trapp’s Eyes Wide Shut Diptych
People’s Choice Award: Miranda Becht’s Gettin' Kitschy with It
Thank you to all the artists who participated to make this such a great show!
The IUS Library invites all staff, faculty, students, and community members to the Closing Reception & Award Ceremony for the IUS Library Fine Arts Competition Friday, October 28th 2011 12:15pm-1:15pm, Library First Floor Gallery.
The IUS Library Fine Arts Competition & Show is now available for viewing in the IUS Library Art Gallery (1st floor). Come check out some great artwork by your fellow students, and be sure to vote for your favorite at the reference desk!
This is a reminder that our Open Books discussion on Friday, October 14th will be back to our usual starting time at noon. Our book is Why Sinatra Matters by Pete Hamill. Our discussion will be lead by Tom Wolf. We will meet in our regular space in the Library, #230. Hope to see many of you there!
The Annual IUS Library Fine Arts Competition has returned!
The IUS Library invites student artists to participate in our Annual Fine Arts Competition and Show, October 3rd through October 28thThis year the Fine Arts Competition offers two options for entry:
1) You may choose to enter a work on any subject or theme, which will be eligible for the Grand Purchase Prize
2) You may choose to enter a thematic work celebrating the nature and importance of books, literature, libraries, reading and literacy, or information in any of its many and changing forms. (Thematic works will be eligible for the Grand Purchase Prize as well as a special Director’s Discretionary Purchase Prize.)
Awards: The Grand Purchase Prize, a $300 purchase award for the overall best work, will be awarded based on the decision of a designated juror; a $300 Director’s Discretionary Purchase Prize for outstanding work based on the library theme may, at the discretion of the Library Director, be awarded. Additionally, visitors to the IUS Library Art Gallery will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite artwork through October 26th. The “People’s Choice” winner will receive a $50 award.
Eligibility: This competition is open to any currently enrolled student at Indiana University Southeast. Works of fine art in any medium, in any size the Library can accommodate, are eligible. (For questions of size, contact Kate Moore, (812)941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu. There is a limit of 3 works per artist.
Calendar:
September 29th-30th: Work, ready to display, must be delivered to the IUS Library Reference Desk with completed entry form attached before the library closes at 5pm on September 30th. (Please use one entry form for each work you plan to enter.)
Oct. 3rd: Show selected, juried, and installed. Show will run through October 28th.
October 28th (12:15pm): Artist reception & award ceremony, Library Gallery
Oct. 31st-Nov. 4th: Art work should be picked up from Library
Entry forms are available here: https://www.ius.edu/library/diglib/IUS_Library_Fine_Arts_Competition_2011.pdf
The Library will be closed in observance of Labor Day. The Library will resume regular hours on Tuesday, September 6. The Library will be OPEN Saturday and Sunday , September 3-4, regular hours.
Until now, the Library Tour component of the First Year Seminar has only been available as a self-guided audio tour. But starting this Fall, students may choose to attend scheduled student-led tours of the Library in place of the audio tour option. Either the audio tour or the student-led tour will result in students receiving the Library passport stamp.
The scheduled Library tours will be offered on the following dates and times. Students should meet at the reference desk to begin the tour.
|
Date |
Time |
Tour Guide |
|
Thursday, Sept. 8 |
11:30 AM |
Claudia |
|
|
4:30 PM |
Brad |
|
Thursday, Sept. 15 |
11:30 AM |
Claudia |
|
|
4:30 PM |
Brad |
|
Thursday, Sept. 22 |
11:30 AM |
Claudia |
|
|
4:30 PM |
Brad |
|
Thursday, Sept. 29 |
11:30 AM |
Claudia |
|
|
4:30 PM |
Brad |
Our Open Books discussion on Friday, September 9th will begin at 11 AM instead of noon. Our book is The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien and this early start time will allow Liam Felsen, IUS’s expert on Tolkien to lead our discussion. We will meet in our regular space in the Library, #230. Hope to see many of you there!
Please note that the Library will be CLOSED on Friday August 19 for an In-Service Day.
Dates |
Schedule |
| Tuesday - Friday, August 9 - 12 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, August 13- 14 | CLOSED |
| Monday - Thursday, August 15 - 18 |
8 am - 5 pm |
| Friday - Sunday, August 19 - 21 | CLOSED |
| Monday - Friday, August 22 - 26 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, August 27 - 28 | CLOSED |
Our next meeting of Open Books will take place on Friday, August 12th at noon in the library #230. Our selection this month is House Rules by Jodi Picoult.
Starting July 17th 2011, Biosis Previews will automatically redirect to its new interface, which includes many new features and functionality, including automatic searches for over 7,000 spelling variations such as British/US English (colour / color) as well as name variants (mice / mouse); complete search results returned allowing all records to be viewed or analyzed (no more 100,0000 limit); ability to view abstracts on the summary list, without having to go to the full record; and the ability to see times cited counts for items in every citation database on the platform.
In observance of the Fourth of July Holiday, the Libary will be closed Saturday - Monday, July 2 - 4. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday July 5.
The desktop version of SciFinder Scholar will be discontinued on June 30, 2011. All users will need to use the web version (which requires registration) after that date. All IUS students, faculty, and staff can register for an account here: https://bl-libg-doghill.ads.iu.edu/chem-web/SciFinderWeb.html.
If you have any questions about this change, please contact Assistant Librarian Kate Moore (kabmoore@ius.edu).
Dates |
Schedule |
| Thursday - Friday, June 23 - 24 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday - Sunday, June 25 - 26 |
CLOSED |
Regular hours resume Monday June 27
If you’ve read any of the tens of thousands of eBooks available to IUS students, faculty, and staff, chances are you’ve used the NetLibrary platform at least once for viewing. Beginning in July 2011, all NetLibrary eBooks are being migrated over to the EBSCOhost platform (familiar to users of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and numerous other databases available to you). While this transition will mean cross-searchable access to millions of articles and thousands of eBooks all on the same platform, there’s a few things to know before the transition is complete.
PLEASE NOTE: If you have a personal account with NetLibrary, make sure to save any important information (notes on eBooks, lists of eBooks/Audiobooks, and any information on holds you may have placed on Books/Audiobooks etc.) elsewhere. Personal accounts in NetLibrary will NOT be migrating to the new platform.
Why not take a test drive to see what the new eBooks on EBSCOhost will look like? Check it out today at: http://ebookpreview.ebscohost.com/webauth/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=nlbctst
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. IPA Source now includes 5500 texts, with 919 aria texts, and is available from our Article & Database Search page as well in the our list of Music Databases. Check it out today!
Open Books will meet at 12noon in the Library Room 230 to discuss Emma by Jane Austen. The titles for the rest of the year are:
| Dates | Titles |
|---|---|
| July 8 | Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russelll |
| August 12 | House Rules by Jodi Picoult |
| September 9 | The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien |
| October 14 |
Why Sinatra Matters by Pete Hamill |
| November 11 |
False Papers: Essays on Exile and Memoir by Andre Aciman |
| December 9 |
Quaker Witness by Irene Allen |
Students, staff, & faculty at IUS now have access to two historical image collections: Picture Post Historical Archive and Illustrated London News Historical Archive.
The Picture Post Historical Archive includes all images from the British magazine Picture Post, from 1938-1957. Get a sneak peek at what ordinary life in Britain was like in the 1930s through the 1950s!
The Illustrated London News includes full color reproductions of one of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspapers of all time. Our access is to the issues published between 1842 and 2003.
Our online access to Times Literary Supplement has been greatly expanded! We now have access to all issues of TLS published betwee 1902 and 2006. TLS is considered the most authoritative English-language publication covering the world of literary and cultural activities, so checking out this expanded coverage (and improved interface) is a must!
The Library will be closed on Monday May 30 in observance of Memorial Day. The Library will be open normal hours Saturday & Sunday, May 28 -29. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday, May 31.
Starting today, all of our Proquest databases have transitioned over to a more user-friendly, easier-on-the-eye interface that allows the ability to cross-search some 39 databases all at the same time! Check it out today at: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/?accountid=11654. A sample of databases that are now available on the new platform are below:
Historical New York Times with Index
International Index to Music Periodicals
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
Come out on this most lucky of unlucky nights, and celebrate the creativity and synergism of your local Kentuckiana artists! A dizzying combination of independent works and collaborative pieces, that is Pangenic! Featured artists include: Andy Cook, Kelly Armstrong Craig, Thaniel Ion Lee, Lisa Oechsli, Kenn Parks, Jeremy Dixon, Howard Wilson, Ron Whitehead, John Seyal, Jen Mitchell, Nicholas Sea, Angela Howard, Kait Whistler Seyal, Keith Linton, & more!
The show opens today, May 9th and runs until June 17th, so if you can’t make it on the 13th, make sure to contemplate viewing the show whenever you can!
IUCAT users can now text a call number to their cell phones to get information about books in the IU system. You will notice a red cell phone icon with “text call #” next to the item’s location.
The text includes at least part of the title, the library, call number and location. A user does not have to be logged in to send the text.
Enter your 10 digit cell phone number and select your service provider. Then click "send text". You will receive a text message with the title call number, location, and status of the item shortly.
Note: Provider charges and limits may apply.
At present, we are sending text for the following carriers:
A T & T
Nextel
Sprint
T-Mobile
Verizon Wireless
Virgin Mobile
This is a reminder that we will be meeting to discuss Under the Greenwood Tree by Thomas Hardy next Friday the 13th at noon in the library. Regina Hollis has sent the following for your perusal : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72Uqzg4kg00
Early American Newspapers, Series 6 & 7 features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic U.S. newspapers. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection -- based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820" -- offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States -- the story of its people, ideals, commerce and everyday life.
The library will be having extended hours until exams are over. Limited services after 10p.m. Free coffee will be available after the Library Bistro closes for the evening Monday - Thursday during this time.
|
Dates |
Schedule |
|
Monday - Thursday Apr. 18 - 21 |
8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Apr. 22 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Apr. 23 |
9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday Apr. 24 | 12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday - Thursday Apr. 25 - 28 | 8 am - Midnight |
| Friday Apr. 29 | 8 am - 5 pm |
| Saturday Apr. 30 | 9 am - 5 pm |
| Sunday May 1 | 12 noon - 6 pm |
| Monday May 2 | 8 am - Midnight |
| Tuesday May 3 | 8 am - 8:30 pm |
Teaching Books includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment which can be used to integrate multimedia into reading activities in the classroom. Check out this short video (http://www.teachingbooks.net/show.cgi?f=threemin_overview) and get started using Teaching Books for your student teaching needs!
Open Books will meet in the Library at noon on Friday, April 8th to discuss Passing by Nella Larsen . Dr. Christa Zorn will be leading the discussion.
Due to increased costs and low usage, the IU Southeast Library has decided to cancel our subscription to WorldCat Local. User-created accounts or lists available through WorldCat Local should still be available in WorldCat.org, a free version of WorldCat Local. For more information, you can check out IU Bloomington’s FAQ about the differences between WorldCat and WorldCat Local (http://www.libraries.iub.edu/index.php?pageId=18). If you have questions, please email us.
Explore the dark underbelly of London in the 19th and early 20th centuries using our new database, London Low Life. Find out more about London’s gin palaces, brothels, and East End slums all from the comfort of your own home (or the library’s) computers. This is a great resource for finding primary source materials for the study of 19th century London life, popular culture, and entertainment as well as criminology, social reform, and religion. Check it out on our Article & Database Search page!
The IUS Library invites all staff, faculty, students and community members to the Opening Reception for Concrete & Comic Books: Contemporary Art by Jim Doiron and Andrew Rosenbarger Friday, March 4th 2011 6pm-8pm, Library First Floor Gallery. Concrete & Comic Books: Contemporary Art by Jim Doiron and Andrew Rosenbarger features the works of Jim Doiron, who explores the aesthetic potential of ordinary construction materials, and Andrew Rosenbarger, who creates composed chaos in graphic illustrations that employ mixed media, found objects, and more. The show will feature new works by both artists. Concrete & Comic Books runs through April 1st at the IUS Library Art Gallery, courtesy of Galerie Hertz. For more information about this show, please contact Kate Moore at kabmoore@ius.edu.