This online streaming film collection provides access to documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis of visual media. Periods covered include the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art.
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Note: Images in ArtSTOR may be used for non-commercial, educational purposes if you abide by the ARTstor Terms and Conditions. More information about copyright and image use in ARTstor can be found here: http://artstor.libguides.com/Copyright-in-Artstor.
The Indiana University Department of the History of Art DIDO Image Bank provides access to images encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media. Image Bank contains over 75,000 images of art, architecture, and material culture.
Provides access to the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and translations of opera arias and art song texts, including works in Latin, German, French, and Italian.
Includes abstracts of articles in scholarly journals and popular magazines about all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
A guide to using Music Periodicals Database is available here.
The world's largest online classical music library. Allows users to listen to recordings of classical music, and provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. Also included within this database are synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, and a glossary of musical terms. NOTE: Please make sure to log out of Naxos' website when finished.
An online art reference source that covers Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the contents of Grove Art Online as well as additional Oxford art reference resources. Provides access to artists' biographies, images of artwork, as well as information on aesthetics, art terms, art movements, styles, theory, and criticism.
An online music reference source that includes the contents of Grove Music Online as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Provides access to articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms, genres, and popular music.
A collection of language and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press. All titles in the collection are cross-searchable; individual titles may be searched separately as well.
Ask a Librarian
A Reference Librarian is available during normal library hours:
Consists of the online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources, including the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, select magazine and journal articles, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to additional websites reviewed by the Britannica editors.