Skip to main content

Citation & Documentation: Citation Software

This guide is meant to help you with citing & documenting your sources. Different tabs have information about the main citations styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, & CSE) as well as links to citation tools you can use to organize and manage your references.

Which Style Do I Use?

The documentation style you use depends on the disciplinary area of the subject.


Check with your professor if you are unsure of which one to use.

APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition cover

Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) cover

MLA Style

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition cover

CSE Style

Scientific Style And Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, And Publishers (7th Ed.)

Citation Managers

Citation managers, or bibliographic management software, can save you hours by keeping track of your sources and formatting your bibliographies.

EndNote and EndNote Web are available at no cost to IUS students, faculty and staff. Zotero is available as a free Firefox plugin for anyone to download.

Citation Managers at IUS

Use software like Zotero to manage your sources - download citations from library databases; export the bibliography into your paper. Georgia State University has a great comparison of diffierent citation manager programs available here.

 


Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a free Firefox plugin that collects, manages, and cites research sources.  It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and you can save citations from IUCAT and most library databases, as well as sites like Amazon and the New York Times online.  
It also allows you to attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or OpenOffice. It is easier to use than EndNote and surprisingly powerful.

Since it's a Firefox plugin, it automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Zotero Quick Start Guide

See also this great guide published by the Zotero developers themselves. Also available as a PDF.

New Citation Software

Mendeley logo

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

 

New Citation Software

EasyBib logo

EasyBib helps you format your sources using MLA style (formatting in other styles is not included in the free version).

License

Creative Commons License
Citation & Documentation LibGuide by Kate Moore is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 United States License.

Based on Jason Puckett and Amy Harris' work at research.library.gsu.edu

.