This is the "Current Announcements" page of the "Library Announcements" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Announcements  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ius.edu/announcements Print Guide

Current Announcements Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Announcements

Two Smithsonian Collections now Available

The IU Southeast Library now provides access to two new collections from the Smithsonian:

About the Smithsonian Collections Online: Trade Literature & Merchandizing of Industry

 The evolution of business is inextricably linked with American and international history and identity.

For the first time, researchers can now explore this aspect of American and international life via catalogs, pamphlets, advertising materials, and ephemera on essential industries in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries with Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry.

 Key research areas covered include:

• Railroads and Railway Equipment

• Agricultural Machinery

• Transportation Equipment

• Power Generation

• Building and Construction

• Iron and Steel

• Mines and Mining Equipment

• Motorized Vehicles

About the Smithsonian Collections Online: World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow

World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow gives researchers access to international primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1840 to 1923. In capturing the spirit, technology, design, and innovations that influenced the modern world, this archive allows users to explore the progress that shaped contemporary outlooks and reflected national identities.

The unique insights in this collection provide rich fodder for the study of:

• History

• Architecture and Industrial Design

• Fine Arts and Decorative Arts

• Science, Technology and Medicine

• Gender and Ethnic Studies

• Photography

   -Back to Top-          

Punch Magazine now available through the IU Southeast Library

The IU Southeast Library is happy to announce that we now provide access to the following resource:  Punch Magazine

 

About Punch:  From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world’s most celebrated magazine of humour and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity – and how the rest of the world saw the British.

The fully text searchable online archive of PunchPunch Historical Archive 1841–1992 ─ is available for scholars, students and the general researcher to explore. The archive is an unrivalled resource for researching and teaching 19th and 20th century political and social history on key themes such as World War I and World War II; Wars and Conflicts; Colonialism, Imperialism and End of Empire; Impact of New Technology and Modernity; Public Health, Conservation and Environmentalism; Social Change; and The Role of Women.

 -Back to Top-

Transforming Tradition Closing Reception

A closing reception for Transforming Tradition will be held on Friday, September 5th from 5-7pm. The artist, Wende Cudmore, will be available to answer questions and discuss her work.

   Please join us!  Light refreshments will be served.

About Transforming Tradition:  Wende Cudmore’s show changes the way one usually thinks of fruits and vegetables.  She transforms her family’s tradition of gardening and farming into the art of using pressed fruit and vegetables to create intricate and delightful hats, dresses, lampshades, bowls, and more.

  -Back to Top-

Library CLOSED Monday September 1

The Library will be closed on Monday September 1 in observance of Labor Day.  The Library is open Saturday August 3o and Sunday August 31.  Regular hours will resume on Tuesday September 2.

 -Back to Top-

Library CLOSED August 15

The IU Southeast library will be closed on Friday August 15 for for an in-service day.

 -Back to Top-

Library Intersession Hours

Dates

Schedule

 Saturday - Sunday, August 9 - 10 CLOSED
 Monday - Thursday, August 11 - 14
8 am - 5 pm
 Friday - Sunday, August 15 - 17
CLOSED
Monday - Friday , August 18 - 22 8 am - 5 pm
Saturday - Sunday, August 23 - 24 CLOSED

Regular hours resume Monday August 25, 2014

 -Back to Top-

Changes to New IUCAT

Coming This Fall: Changes to New IUCAT
We have been working for several months on a system upgrade to the new IUCAT, our shared statewide online library catalog.  Starting this fall semester, you will notice some major improvements, including:

Updated look and feel

  • New responsive design is compatible with mobile, tablet and desktop platforms
  • Streamlined, cleaner interface for improved ease of use

Better functionality for IU-affiliated, logged-in users

  • Logged-in users will be able to save searches and bookmark records for later use
  • Comments, questions, error reports? Share your feedback freely! No more CAPTCHA for logged-in users

In addition, watch for the following changes, expected to roll out before the end of the calendar year:

  • Interface improvements for “My Account”
  • Ability to limit by item location (eg Reference)
  • ‘New titles’ available via new IUCAT. Quickly & easily review new titles added to the collection according to your interests, and filter by date range or by any existing facet (library, subject, etc.) or keyword search.

-Back to Top-

Libary CLOSED for July 4th Holiday

The IU Southeast Library will be CLOSED Friday July 4 through Sunday July 6 in observance of the July 4th Holiday.  Regular operating hours will resume on Monday July 7.

-Back to Top- 

Library Exhibit:  Transforming Tradition-- Works by Wende Cudmore     

    Transforming Tradition will be on display in the IU Southeast Library Art Gallery June 30th through September 5th 2014. 

A closing reception will be held on Friday, September 5th from 5-7pm.

About Transforming Tradition:  Wende Cudmore’s show changes the way one usually thinks of fruits and vegetables.  She transforms her family’s tradition of gardening and farming into the art of using pressed fruit and vegetables to create intricate and delightful hats, dresses, lampshades, bowls, and more.

Wende received her BFA in printmaking from IU Southeast in 2013 and was featured in the Horizon in 2012 (http://iushorizon.com/2012/01/printmaking-student-finds-passion-in-plants/).

 -Back to Top-

Intersession Hours June 26 - 29

Dates

Schedule

 Thursday - Friday, June 26 - 27   8 am - 5 pm  
Saturday - Sunday, June 28 - 29
CLOSED

Regular hours resume Monday June 30

-Back to Top-

Library CLOSED Monday May 26

The Library will be CLOSED on Monday May 26 in observance of Memorial Day.  The Library will be OPEN normal operating hours on Saturday (5/24) and Sunday (5/25).  Regular hours will resume on Tuesday May 27.

-Back to Top-

Spring Intersession Hours

Dates

Schedule

 Wednesday - Friday, May 7 - 9   8 am - 5 pm  
Saturday - Sunday, May 10 - 11
CLOSED
 Monday, May 12
8 am - 5 pm

Regular hours resume Tuesday  May 13

-Back to Top-

Midnight Hours in the Library beginning April 21

The library will be having extended hours until exams are over.  Limited services after 10p.m.  Free coffee will be available after the Library Bistro closes for the evening Monday - Thursday during this time.

Dates

Schedule

Monday - Thursday Apr. 21 - 24

8 am - Midnight

Friday Apr. 25 8 am - 5 pm
Saturday Apr. 26

9 am - 5 pm

Sunday Apr. 27 12 noon - 6 pm
Monday - Thursday Apr. 25 - May 1
8 am - Midnight
Friday May 2
8 am - 5 pm
Saturday May 3
9 am - 5 pm
Sunday May 4 12 noon - 6 pm
Monday May 5 8 am - Midnight
Tuesday May 6 8 am - 8:30 pm

-Back to Top-

Open Books Friday April 11

Open Books will meet next Friday, April 11, at noon in the Library.  We will be discussing Barbara Kingsolver's latest novel, Flight Behavior.  Set in Appalachia, the story is a parable of catastrophe and denial that explores how the complexities we inevitably encounter in life lead us to believe in our particular chosen truths.   Hope to see you there! 

-Back to Top-

Reception for Phantasm: Works by Secondary Learners from Community Montessori

The IU Southeast Library invites students, faculty, staff, and community members to a reception For Phantasm: Works by Secondary Learners from Community Montessori on Friday, April 11th 2014 5:30pm-7:30pm.  Light refreshments will be served. The Phantasm Art Show will be on display March18th through May 14th 2014.About the Show: The Phantasm Art Show is a collection of works by secondary learners from Community Montessori that explore the boundaries between reality and fantasy.  The artworks explore this boundary through pop culture, traditional fantastical creatures, re-imaginations of classic artwork, and much more.

-Back to Top-

New access to 15 streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press:

The IU Southeast Library is happy to announce that we now provide access to fifteen new streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press.  Find out more about each collection below, or search all of them at once: http://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://search.alexanderstreet.com/   Like our Films on Demand collection, you can search these collections by title and by keywords, as well as browse by title and by subject area (and more!).  You can also create an account and develop and share playlists and clips. 

American History in Video

Provides access to archival films of historical interest, ranging from rare government and public-affairs footage to more commercial, popular documentaries.

Art and Architecture in Video

This online streaming film collection provides access to documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis of visual media. Periods covered include the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art.

Black Studies in Video

This collection brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. At completion, the collection will contain 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Dance in Video

Provides streaming access to the definitive video collection for the study of 20th century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.

Ethnographic Video Online (Volume 1)

A collection of streaming videos covering human culture and behavior. This volume includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

Ethnographic Video Online (Volume 2)

This collection focuses closely on current issues such as environmental crises, refugee migration, and endangered languages. Global in scope, the collection features works from a roster of diverse international filmmakers and includes footage from every continent.

Health and Society in Video

This streaming video collection uses documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews to bridge the gap between medical research and public understanding of health. The focus of these videos are on public health and medicine, nutrition and wellness, childhood development, cultural and environmental health issues, mental health, and more.

March of Time

Provides access to the full run of The March of Time series (1935-1967), with searchable transcripts.

Meet the Press Online

This streaming video collection provides access to the full surviving broadcast run of network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates on a wide range of political, economic, and social issues.

 Some noteworthy episodes include:

  • Jackie Robinson’s appearance in 1957 to discuss Civil Rights and his NAACP involvement.
  • Fidel Castro’s 1959 appearance during his first US visit since the Cuban revolution.
  • President Jimmy Carter’s 1980 announcement that the US would boycott the Moscow Summer Olympics.
  • Colin Powell’s 2008 endorsement of Barack Obama for US president, which pulled in a record-breaking 9 million viewers.

New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts

Provides streaming access to over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films.

Opera in Video

A comprehensive collection of operatic performances covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes.

 Rehabilitation Therapy in Video

A streaming video collection that focuses on the physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. The videos feature world-renowned occupational, physical, and speech therapists explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment.

Silent Film Online

This collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and highlights legendary filmmakers such as Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others.

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

Provides access to a collection of streaming videos from Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos. This collection includes videos on fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.

 Theatre in Video

Provides access to hundreds of the world’s most important plays and video documentaries, from the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett.

 World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966

Provides access to streaming videos of national and international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966. This collection includes the complete run of The March of Time series, Universal Studio's Universal Newsreel (1929-1946), U.S. Office of War Information's United Newsreel (1942-1946) as well as several French, Japanese, and Dutch newsreels, all available with English translations.

 For more information, contact Kate Moore at 812-941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu.

-Back to Top-

Reception for Residue of Memory: Works by Anna Kordsmeier on Mar. 7

The IU Southeast Library invites students, faculty, staff, and community members to a closing reception for The Residue of Memory:  Works by Anna Kordsmeier on Friday, March 7th 2014 12pm-1pm.Light refreshments will be served.

The Residue of Memory will be on display January 13th through March 7th 2014.

About The Residue of Memory:  Anna Kordsmeier’s work explores memories of past experiences through abstract landscape prints and paintings. Her work serves as maps to the realm of memory. Kordsmeier creates these memory maps by combining traditional fine arts materials and techniques with materials and techniques that emphasize the shifting, fragile, and multilayered aspects of memory.

-Back to Top-

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix & Graphic Novels

The IU Southeast Library is happy to announce that we now provide access to Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels,  the first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.

Ranging from the first underground comix of the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will eventually offer more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

Access to this resource is available on and off-campus from the library’s Article and Database Search.

-Back to Top-

Streaming Video Collections from Alexander Street Press

New access to ten streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press:

The IU Southeast Library is happy to announce that we now provide access to ten new streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press.  Find out more about each collection below, or search all of them at once: http://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://search.alexanderstreet.com/   Like our Films on Demand collection, you can search these collections by title and by keywords, as well as browse by title and by subject area (and more!).  You can also create an account and develop and share playlists and clips. 

 Art and Architecture in Video

This online streaming film collection provides access to documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis of visual media. Periods covered include the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art.

Black Studies in Video

This collection brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. At completion, the collection will contain 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Dance in Video

Provides streaming access to the definitive video collection for the study of 20th century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.

Ethnographic Video Online

A collection of streaming videos covering human culture and behavior. This volume includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

Meet the Press Online

This streaming video collection provides access to the full surviving broadcast run of network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates on a wide range of political, economic, and social issues.

 Some noteworthy episodes include:

  • Jackie Robinson’s appearance in 1957 to discuss Civil Rights and his NAACP involvement.
  • Fidel Castro’s 1959 appearance during his first US visit since the Cuban revolution.
  • President Jimmy Carter’s 1980 announcement that the US would boycott the Moscow Summer Olympics.
  • Colin Powell’s 2008 endorsement of Barack Obama for US president, which pulled in a record-breaking 9 million viewers.

Opera in Video

A comprehensive collection of operatic performances covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes.

 Rehabilitation Therapy in Video

A streaming video collection that focuses on the physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. The videos feature world-renowned occupational, physical, and speech therapists explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment.

Silent Film Online

This collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and highlights legendary filmmakers such as Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others.

 Theatre in Video

Provides access to hundreds of the world’s most important plays and video documentaries, from the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett.

 World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966

Provides access to streaming videos of national and international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966. This collection includes the complete run of The March of Time series, Universal Studio's Universal Newsreel (1929-1946), U.S. Office of War Information's United Newsreel (1942-1946) as well as several French, Japanese, and Dutch newsreels, all available with English translations.

 For more information, contact Kate Moore at 812-941-2189 or kabmoore@ius.edu.

Library CLOSED Monday January 20

The Library will be CLOSED on Monday January 20 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.  Regular hours will resume on Tuesday January 21.

-Back to Top- 

The Residue of Memory:  Works by Anna Kordsmeier

The Residue of Memory will be on display January 13th through March 7th 2014. 

About The Residue of Memory:  Anna Kordsmeier’s work explores memories of past experiences through abstract landscape prints and paintings. Her work serves as maps to the realm of memory. Kordsmeier creates these memory maps by combining traditional fine arts materials and techniques with materials and techniques that emphasize the shifting, fragile, and multilayered aspects of memory.

-Back to Top-  

Access to Scopus Now Available

We are pleased to announce a new subscription to Scopus, the world’s largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and other research materials in the science, medical, technical, and social science fields.  Scopus indexes 21,000 journal titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and includes abstracts for over 5.5 million conference papers. It offers an easy-to-use platform with sophisticated tools to help track, analyze and visualize research. 

Check it out on our Article & Database Search page!  

-Back to Top-

Online Access to S & P Industry Surveys

The IU Southeast Library is pleased to announce that we now have online access to Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys through the database NetAdvantage.  In addition to S&P’s Industry Surveys, NetAdvantage provides to a variety of corporate and industry resources produced by Standard & Poor's, including S&P Register, Investment Reviews, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, and other investment analysis tools.

Check it out today: https://oberon.ius.edu/login?url=http://www.netadvantage.standardandpoors.com

-Back to Top-

Open Books Spring 2014 Schedule

Spring 2014 Open Books

Dates

Titles

January 10 The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg Larsson
February 14 The Man of Numbers by Kevin Devlin
 March 14
Love and Summer by William Trevor
April 11
Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
May 9
Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by  Lady Carnarvon
June 13
Ike's Bluff by Evan Thomas
July 11 Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristof

-Back to Top-

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip