Skip to main content

Supplemental Teaching Materials for Transitioning from Face-to-Face Teaching to Online

This guide provides information about providers & vendors who are working with universities & libraries to provide their resources for free or at a reduced cost. If there is a specific resource you need, please reach out to Kate Moore (kabmoore@ius.edu).

Streaming Video Sources - Multidisciplinary

Alexander Street Press Video Collections

Alexander Street Press offers numerous streaming video collections. Broad subject areas covered include anthropology, behavioral & mental health, the humanities, music & dance, theatre & drama, science & medicine, and the social sciences. A list Alexander Street Press video collections we already have access to is available here.

Please reach out to Kate Moore (kabmoore@ius.edu) regarding any collections we do not currently have access to.  We will work with Alexander Street Press to get access set up for you and your students through the end of the semester.

 

Current trial access has already been set up for the following Alexander Street Press video collections:

SAGE Research Methods Video

SAGE Research Methods Video includes tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Collections include: practical research & academic skills; data science, big data analytic, & digital methods; and market research.

Access to Sage Research Methods Video will be available through June 15, 2020.

Sage Video

SAGE Video showcases educational videos across key social science disciplines, including: business and management; counseling and psychotherapy; criminal justice; and education. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs.

Access to Sage Video will be available through June 15, 2020.

Swank (feature films & documentaries)

Swank is a platform for streaming access to feature films and major documentaries.  We also have access to Films on Demand, which has a large collection of documentaries available.

Please reach out to Kate Moore (kabmoore@ius.edu) regarding specific films for your courses and we will activate access as soon as possible.  Access to films will be available through June 2020.

Streaming Videos - Arts & Letters

Artfilms

Artfilms - Watch Art Films Online.  Artfilms streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers, including masterclasses, documentaries, interviews, and more.  Temporary access can be set up through September. 

Please reach out to Kate Moore (kabmoore@ius.edu) regarding specific titles of interest and we will work with you to get access set up. 

Digital Concert Hall – Berlin Philharmonic 

There are over 600 orchestral concerts from the Berliner Philharmoniker in the Digital Concert Hall from more than ten years, including 15 concerts with the new chief conductor Kirill Petrenko. There are also bonus videos from behind the scenes: documentaries on the history of the orchestra, portraits of conductors and orchestra members, and projects from our education programme.

Access is available for 30 days for free if you register on their website before 3/31.  Use the code BERLINPHIL when registering. 

Met OnDemand

The Metropolitan Opera will stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the Met's closure.

All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also  be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps

Streaming Video - Natural & Social Sciences

JoVE

  • JoVe Core (video textbooks available in Biology and Social Psychology that can be used as primary teaching resources or supplements to teaching materials.
  • JoVE Science Education (teach scientific fundamentals with this video library of simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations in biology, chemistry, physics, environmental sciences, psychology, and other STEM fields)
  • Biology Lab Manual (comprehensive, curriculum-focused videos for introductory biology lab courses).
  • Chemistry Lab Manual (comprehensive, curriculum-focused videos for introductory chemistry lab courses).

Access to all JoVE materials is available through June 15th

SAGE Research Methods Video

SAGE Research Methods Video includes tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Collections include: practical research & academic skills; data science, big data analytic, & digital methods; and market research.

Access to Sage Research Methods Video will be available through June 15, 2020.

Sage Video

SAGE Video showcases educational videos across key social science disciplines, including: business and management; counseling and psychotherapy; criminal justice; and education. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs.

Access to Sage Video will be available through June 15, 2020.