List of all IU Southeast Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Digital collection of almost 14,000 letters written by those who served as Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the years from 1833 to 1893. The letters, intended to be reports from the field, range in length from single fragments to reports of over twenty pages. They describe the Indian peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government, and the chronicle the assimilationist goals of the missionaries.
New
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism, and the surveillance activities of the FBI.
Chronicle of Higher Education (Online) This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) The Chronicle
Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; an archive of previously published content; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases.

Published online every weekday, source of news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
Diverse BookFinder This link opens in a new window
New Featured
The Diverse BookFinder picture book collection contains books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). The books are subdivided into 9 categories that represent different context and themes that are present in children's picture books.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Provides access to alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
New
Digital archival collection including the 1928 Meriam Report, a survey of conditions on Indian Reservations in twenty-six states financed by the Rockefeller Foundation and supervised by Lewis Meriam of the Institute for Government Research (Brookings Institution). Also included is the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide documentary insights into major Native American tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
New
Alternate Name(s) Papers of Fannie Lou Hamer: A Civil Rights Activitist, Political Activist, and Woman; Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Fannie Lou Hamer was an voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. This primary source collection sourced from the Amistad Research Center contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
Proquest One Academic This link opens in a new window
New
Provides access to scholarly and popular articles, market reports, newspapers, ebooks, and streaming video.
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) UMP EBC
The UMP EBC is a comprehensive collection of the University of Michigan Press’s scholarly ebooks. The Press adds at least 80 titles annually. The UMP EBC is fully accessible on Fulcrum, a leading community-developed, open-source platform for digital scholarship developed by Michigan Publishing and the U-M Library. Fulcrum offers users the ability to read books with associated digital enhancements, such as 3-D models, embedded audio, video, and databases; zoomable online images, and interactive media.
Victorians on Film This link opens in a new window
New
The British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection includes content created between 1895 and 1901 by some of the most significant British film pioneers and depicts the dynamic and innovative world of the late Victorians. Showcasing the incredible range and inventiveness of Britain’s youthful film pioneers, including Robert Paul, George Albert Smith, and Birt Acres, the collection includes early experiments in capturing current events, comedies, drama, and fantasy.
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
New Featured
Alternate Name(s) Wall Street Journal, WSJ, Wall Street Journal academic pass
Access to The Wall Street Journal

IUS Library provides access to IUS students, faculty, and staff to the Wall Street Journal. Go to WSJ @ IUS for more information about your IUS/WSJ account.

Go to IUS WSJ Academic to register for an account Use your IUS email address when creating an account.
War Department and Indian Affairs This link opens in a new window
New
Digital collection of War Department correspondence. Includes letters from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, missionaries, and other public and private individuals. Among them are drafts of letters sent, vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, and newspapers. Also includes copies of speeches to Native Americans, proceedings of conferences with Native Americans in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials.
Loading...
Loading...

Loading...
title
Loading...