Library Resources for J216, Sophomore Seminar in History: Primary Source Databases

Includes access to four Adam Matthew Digital World War I collections, and includes a range of visual and documentary sources such as photographs, diaries, leaflets, posters, postcards, film clips, manuscripts, and rare printed material and ephemera. Collections include: The First World War: A Global Conflict: The material in this collection covers the contribution of soldiers who took part from all corners of the world, including colonial territories, and documents events and battles that occurred internationally, in the Middle East, Africa and Russia.The First World War: Personal Experiences: This collection of primary source documents offers information on subjects such as daily life in the army, trench warfare, training and discipline, food, weapons, equipment, health and medicine. The First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment: This collection focuses on all types of propaganda produced during the Great War of 1914-1918. The First World War: Visual Perspectives and Narratives: This collection presents international perspectives on major events during the war.

Provides the ability to cross-search over twenty primary source collections from Gale. Content in the collections includes newspapers, magazines, and books published between the 17th and 20th century, images and videos from the mid-1800s to the 20th century from the Associated Press, primary source materials that focus on the Americas as well as the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples in North America, and much more. Click on "more..." to see specific databases included.

Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.

Provides access to archival films of historical interest, ranging from rare government and public-affairs footage to more commercial, popular documentaries.

Provides a wealth of material about the history of North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica, and the West Indies, with particular emphasis on the history and culture of the United States from 1500-1926. Includes original accounts of exploration, colonization, pioneering, settlement, the American Revolution, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the western movement, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Research Methods Primary Sources is an online learning tool for primary source literacy that can be used in classroom-based and online teaching, as well as for independent study. it includes: Learning tools (essays and videos), Case studies, and over 300 digitized items that can be used as practice sources.

Contains digitized newspapers from thirty-seven states, including Indiana and Kentucky, as well as information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. The years available for each newspaper vary, but coverage extends from 1836 to 1922.