It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for Honors 103 and 104: Finding Periodical Articles
This guide is designed to 1) connect students in H103 and H104 with relevant library resources and 2) provide information about searching for and evaluating information.
Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?
While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?
Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.
If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)
Listed below are selected article databases available through the IUS library. This is not an exhaustive list. To see the full list of database options available, see the article and database page on the library homepage.
Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
Provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, technology, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, Business Source Complete is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Contemporary Literary Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; Drama Criticism.
Provides historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles. Includes articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
Provides access to citations and some full-text of scholarly articles on the open web. ACCESS NOTE: To access IUS subscribed-to resources from off-campus, go to the Google Scholar Preferences menu and under the heading "Library Links," search for "Indiana University Southeast." You will then be asked to log in using your IUS username and password. From there, you should be able to access all articles that are available through IUS subscriptions.
his database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
This database provides more than 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Provides the searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, and business. Access for most journals include issues from Vol. 1 No. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.