LibGuides: Library Resources for Children's and Young Adult Literature: Databases (Book Reviews, Author Profiles, etc.)

Why use articles?

Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.

Why use a database?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Book-finding Databases & Author Information

Diverse BookFinder This link opens in a new window
The Diverse BookFinder picture book collection contains books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). The books are subdivided into 9 categories that represent different context and themes that are present in children's picture books.
Learn more about the Diverse BookFinder https://diversebookfinder.org/our-missionvision/
Reading Rockets This link opens in a new window
Reading Rockets offers a wealth of reading strategies, lessons, and activities designed to help young children learn how to read and read better.
TeachingBooks for Libraries (formerly TeachingBooks.net) This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the preK–12 environment, with resources selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading activities.
Video user guides for Teaching Books are available: http://www.teachingbooks.net/support.cgi?f=support_video_demos.
Book Connections This link opens in a new window
Developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction children's books, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. Find book trailers, movies with authors, audio performances, discussion questions, and more — all great ways to engage with books together! Book Connections is a product of TeachingBooks for Libraries (formerly TeachingBooks.net).
Gale Literature: Something About The Author This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all volumes of Something About the Author (1971-present) and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series (1985-present).
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.

Education Databases

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text access to scholarly education and education-related journals from 1966 to the present. Also includes full-text access to most ERIC documents from 1996 to the present.

Associate Librarian

Melanie Hughes

Email Me

Subjects: children's literature, education