Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use reference books?
We collect reference books so that you can have access to high-quality, factual information. Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and almanacs. Reference books are a good place to go if you need facts, background information on a topic, or statistics.
We also have a collection of reference books in print, and they do not circulate--that means you cannot check them out--but you are welcome to use them while you're here in the library. The reference section is located behind the reference desk, which is the desk straight ahead of you once you enter the library.
American Decades This link opens in a new window
Reference resource that provides information about contemporary American social history, from 1900-1999.
Biography Resource Center
Contains biographies of over 300,000 people from hundreds of reference books and magazine articles.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Consists of the Encyclopedia Britannica (15th edition), the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year, etc.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) This link opens in a new window
Online subject encyclopedias covering arts, biography, business, education, environment history, and more.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the popular encyclopedia.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
NOTE: As of October 1, 2011, statistics on this website will not be updated.