Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use scholarly articles?
Scholarly articles are a major resource used in literary research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. In literature, these scholars are mostly academics who research and teach in literature and literary studies.
As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text articles on current issues in psychology. The database contains more than 39,000 searchable full-text articles from 44 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 52 journals. Coverage spans from 1985 to the present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as 1840. Journal coverage, which dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. More than 65,000 records are added each year.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation and abstracting database that provides comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?
IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)
While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?
Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.
If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.