Primary Sources in American History (J495): Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Provides searchable full text of all issues of over 1,500 periodicals, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. The majority of content was published between 1740 and 1900.

A full-text digital archive of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Contains digitized newspapers from thirty-seven states, including Indiana and Kentucky, as well as information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. The years available for each newspaper vary, but coverage extends from 1836 to 1922.

This collection includes over 300 hundred significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies. Series 6 of Early American Newspapers includes newspapers published between 1741-1922. Its theme is national debates of the mid-19th century. Series 7 of Early American Newspapers includes newspapers published between 1773-1922. Its theme is the rise of the 19th-century independent press.

Provides fully-searchable, cover to cover access of The Economist from 1843 to fifteen years ago. Also includes The Economist's supplements, Special Reports, and Surveys.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2007, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements. You can limit your search to a specific time period by using the "Date Range" field in the Basic and Advanced Search screens.

See Times (London) Digital Archive.

Provides access to several archival Gale newspaper collections, including the British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), Daily Mail Historical Archive, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, Independent Digital Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Listener Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Picture Post Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive, Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

Provides access to the full-text of numerous 19th century newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Subjects covered in this collection include the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life and culture.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

A digital collection of nineteenth-century periodicals covering a wide range of topics, including culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and nineteenth-century professions.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides access to backfiles of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanitites, and social sciences.

A full-text, fully searchable digital archive of newspapers, pamphlets, and books published mostly in London in the 17th and 18th centuries. Also includes some English provincial newspapers as well as Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.