Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?
IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)
While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?
Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.
If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.
Indices of Primary Source Materials at IUS
19th Century Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to nineteenth century (1800s) books, official documents, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
19th Century Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window
An index of virtually all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States, as well as all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English published from the beginning of the 19th century to the end of World War I. Also includes citations for numerous periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications.
C19, the Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to nineteenth century books, official documents, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to books, pamphlets, government documents, and broadsides about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Topics covered include natural disasters, European exploration, portrayals of native American peoples, slavery, and disease.
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes to The Times (London) from 1790 to 1980 and the New York Times from 1851 to 1922. Also includes access to the full text of The Times (London) articles from 1785-1870.