LibGuides: H236 Cold War: Finding Secondary Sources

Websites

Cold War International History Project
The Cold War International History Project is based in the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. The Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.

Why use periodical articles?

Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.

Why use a database?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts and citations from numerous journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
To locate Cold War resources, browse topics and choose the War and Conflict entry.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 8,000 high-quality educational streaming videos, including documentaries, archival primary source materials, broadcast journalism features, and curriculum-focused videos.
This resource works best with the Google Chrome browser.
Historical New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.
Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides the searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, and business. Access for most journals include issues from Vol. 1 No. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government from a range of information sources.
PAO (Periodicals Archive Online) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to backfiles of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanitites, and social sciences.
A user guide to PAO (Periodicals Archive Online) is available: http://proquest.libguides.com/pao.
Project MUSE - Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 350 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Video user guides for Project Muse are available: http://youtu.be/Bhldo-sLktk
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full text to over 2.4 million dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present.
A guide to using Proquest Dissertations and Theses is available here: http://proquest.libguides.com/pqdt.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming documentaries exploring human history from early civilizations to the late twentieth century in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.