Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use periodical articles?
Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.
Why do I have to use a database to find an article?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
There are many databases that can help you find articles from journals, but this database may be a good one to start with. Academic Search Premier connects you to articles in scholarly journals, as well as popular magazines and newspapers. Its coverage is multidisciplinary, which makes it a good general purpose source to start with.
Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY) Online (via Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Louisville Courier-Journal from 2002 to the present.
Horizon Online This link opens in a new window
Indiana University Southeast's student-produced news organization, published daily online and every other week in print during the spring and fall semesters.
Digitized copies of issues of the IU Southeast student newspaper are available here: http://libguides.ius.edu/studentnewspapers
, from the first volume through 2007.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection of national and world newspapers, newswires, news magazines, and television and radio news transcripts. Contributors include ABC News (American), ABC (Australian), AP (Associated Press), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNN Wire, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China).
Wall Street Journal (via ABI/INFORM) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Wall Street Journal, from 1984 to today's issue.