LibGuides: Library Resources for C105 Waingeh: Finding Articles

Why use periodical articles?

Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.

Why do I have to use a database to find an article?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
There are many databases that can help you find articles from journals, but this database may be a good one to start with. Academic Search Premier connects you to articles in scholarly journals, as well as popular magazines and newspapers.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable access to the full-text of almost all journals published by the American Chemical Society, from volume 1 to the most current issue.
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Online Journals This link opens in a new window
See Scitation.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
ACCESS NOTE: To access IUS subscribed-to resources from off-campus, go to the Google Scholar Preferencesmenu and under the heading "Library Links," search for "Indiana University Southeast." You will then be asked to log in using your IUS username and password. From there, you should be able to access all articles that are available through IUS subscriptions.
SciFinder-n (formerly SciFinder Scholar) This link opens in a new window
Allows access to a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, and more. SciFinder Scholar includes researched covered in Chemical Abstracts and articles currently being indexed.
ACCESS NOTE: SciFinder-n requires registration. Register for an account here.
Guides to using SciFinder Scholar are available: https://www.cas.org/training/scifinder.
SciVerse (also known as ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
See ScienceDirect.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 scholarly journals and 2,000 online books in the humanities, medicine, social sciences, science, and technology fields. Journal access is from the mid-1990's to the present.