Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use reference books?
We collect reference books so that you can have access to high-quality, factual information. Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and almanacs. Reference books are a good place to go if you need facts, background information on a topic, or statistics.
Reference books do not circulate--that means you cannot check them out--but you are welcome to use them while you're here in the library. The reference section is located behind the reference desk, which is the desk straight ahead of you once you enter the library.
A Dictionary of Sociology by
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Wide-ranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind. Compiled by a team of sociological experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it is packed with over 2,500 entries.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender by
Call Number: Reference HQ1075 .C47 1999
Publication Date: 1999-05-31
Electronic Reference Databases
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL))
Includes a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for beginning research. Subjects include African American studies, American and world history, animal behavior, anthropology, biography, business and finance, cinema, elementary and secondary education, general science, law, literature, medicine, philosophy, psychology, religion, scholarships and fellowships for college, sociology, and technology.