Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use periodical articles?
Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.
Why do I have to use a database to find an article?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Academic Search Complete
There are many databases that can help you find articles from journals, but this database may be a good one to start with. Academic Search Premier connects you to articles in scholarly journals, as well as popular magazines and newspapers.
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text articles on current issues in psychology. The database contains more than 39,000 searchable full-text articles from 44 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 52 journals. Coverage spans from 1985 to the present.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as 1840. Journal coverage,
MEDLINE and other Medical Databases (Ovid)
Access to MEDLINE (1950-current); MEDLINE Daily Update, MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, and OLDMEDLINE (1948-1965) as well as other Ovid medical and health sciences databases, including selected full-text.