LibGuides: Creative Writing Resources: Articles

Why use scholarly articles?

Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.

Why use a database?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
Gale Literature: Something About The Author This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all volumes of Something About the Author (1971-present) and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series (1985-present).
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides the searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, and business. Access for most journals include issues from Vol. 1 No. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folkore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Coverage is international in scope and some bibliographic entries date back to the 1920s.
Project MUSE - Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text current and archival articles from 250+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Video user guides for Project Muse are available: http://youtu.be/Bhldo-sLktk
Something About The Author This link opens in a new window
Now called Gale Literature: Something About The Author.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 scholarly journals and 2,000 online books in the humanities, medicine, social sciences, science, and technology fields. Journal access is from the mid-1990's to the present.

Finding An Article with a Citation

You've found an article you are interested in locating. You need to see whether or not the Library has that journal full text.

We are going to use the "Full-Text Journals A-Z Search."
Underneath "Find journals by title or ISSN," next to "Title Begins With," type or cut and paste the title of the Journal (not the article title) in the search box.
The results list shows what years of the Journal are covered full-text in different databases, or in Print down on the Library's first floor Journal section. Click on the year you need.
On the Journal's homepage. Look for your year, volume, issue, then pages and article title.