Library Resources for W290 Reynolds: Other History Databases

Provides full-text, searchable access to thousands of books published in Great Britain and the Americas between 1701 and 1800.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Now called Library of Congress Digital Collections.

Includes the full text of non-fiction works of major African Americans leaders-teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures. Works include monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews, published between the colonial period and 1975.

Now called U.S Declassified Documents Online.

Declassified primary documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions since 1945. Currently there are 50 collections, each with a particular focus on a world event, country, or U.S. policy decision, including the Cuban Missile Crisis, U.S. espionage, the Iran-Contra Affair, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War.

A collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Provides a wealth of material about the history of North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica, and the West Indies, with particular emphasis on the history and culture of the United States from 1500-1926. Includes original accounts of exploration, colonization, pioneering, settlement, the American Revolution, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the western movement, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Contains a range of influential works reflecting the major trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present. Content includes works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault, and Jean Baudrillard.

Provides access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

An online archive of publications and documents focusing on women's activism in American public life between 1600 and 2000. The collection is organized around 124 document projects, each posing a new interpretive question and then providing 20 to 50 primary documents that address the question, together with an interpretive introduction and headnotes, bibliography, and related links.