It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for Ms Lynch's FYS Class: Finding Periodical Articles
Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, and local markets. Provides information not typically found in the national press sources as well articles from major business magazines and tabloids, daily newspapers, and wire services on marketing, finance, and industries.
Provides full-text access to trade and industry information including coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics. Includes information on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff can sign up for full access to Business First of Louisville.
ACCESS NOTE: For full access to , register for an account here using your @iu.edu email address.
See also Louisville Business First.
ACCESS NOTE: When accessing this resource from off campus, you may receive notification that the website certificate is not valid. (This is due to the URL having a double SSL connection.) To access the site you will need to either click okay on the warning (Internet Explorer) or click to add an exception (Firefox).
A nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.
My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?
While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?
Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.
If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)