LibGuides: Library Resources for Susan Dawson's W131: Helpful Databases for Historical Events or Persons

Why use a database?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts and citations from numerous journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Decades This link opens in a new window
Reference resource that provides information about contemporary American social history, from 1900-1999.
American Memory (now called Library of Congress Digital Collections) This link opens in a new window
Now called Library of Congress Digital Collections.
Note: A small number of American Memory collections are still available on the older platform: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text of all issues of over 1,500 periodicals, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. The majority of content was published between 1740 and 1900.
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes to The Times (London) from 1790 to 1980 and the New York Times from 1851 to 1922. Also includes access to the full text of The Times (London) articles from 1785-1870.
Library of Congress Digital Collections (previously called American Memory) This link opens in a new window
Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Note: A small number of American Memory collections are still available on the older platform: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

360 Link to Full Text

Don't worry if the article you've found doesn't have a PDF or HTML version accessible. Click the link that says "Find Full Text" to prompt a search for that article across all of our databases.

If if that still doesn't provide online access, request an interlibrary loan.