Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring a database can be overwhelming. Here are some questions that may help you understand what the database is, how it works, and how it might be useful to you.
- What keywords and search queries did you use to conduct your search?
- What kinds of information sources are found in this research tool? Books, articles, etc.?
- Browse through the first few pages of your search results. Are these sources relevant to your topic? How can you make that determination?
- Choose one of your search results that seems most relevant to your topic. How do you access the information source? (Is the article right there on the page? Do you have to click on another link to access it? Is it on a shelf in the library?)
- Would you use any of these sources for an assignment in this class? Why or why not?
- If you were to show someone else how to search this database, what tips or suggestions would you have?
Helpful Databases For This Class
Academic Search Complete
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL))
Includes a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for beginning research. Subjects include African American studies, American and world history, animal behavior, anthropology, biography, business and finance, cinema, elementary and secondary education, general science, law, literature, medicine, philosophy, psychology, religion, scholarships and fellowships for college, sociology, and technology.
Sage Journals Online
Includes citations, abstracts, and the full text of journals published by Sage in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, & medicine.