It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for Leigh Ann Meyer's FYS W131: Finding Secondary Sources (Periodical Articles)
Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Listed below are selected article databases available through the IUS library. This is not an exhaustive list. To see the full list of database options available, see the article and database page on the library homepage.
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text articles on current issues in psychology. The database contains more than 39,000 searchable full-text articles from 44 journals published by the APA and 8 from allied organizations.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as 1840.
Searchable full-text backfiles of 117 scholarly journals in the fields of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, etc.
Includes citations to journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folkore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Coverage is international in scope and some bibliographic entries date back to the 1920s.
A full-text digital collection of national and world newspapers, newswires, news magazines, and television and radio news transcripts. Contributors include ABC News (American), ABC (Australian), AP (Associated Press), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNN Wire, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China).