Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources for Additional Research
Academic Search Complete
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
African American Poetry, 1750-1900
Contains poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
America: History and Life
Provides access to abstracts and citations from numerous journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Black Drama, 1850-Present
Contains the full text of plays written by more than 200 playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Themes within this collection include civil rights, desegregation, colonialism, slavery, apartheid, and a wide range of ideologies – integrationist and separatist, revolutionary and nationalist.
Black Thought and Culture
Includes the full text of non-fiction works of major African Americans leaders-teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures. Works include monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews, published between the colonial period and 1975.
Black Women Writers
Provides full text access to fiction, poetry, and essays by black women from North America, Africa, Europe, and the Caribbean; dates of the material range from the 1700s to contemporary works.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Includes full-text coverage of international scholarly and popular journals in Black Studies. Covers an array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.
Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
This collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka. It includes poetry, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, and more, and covers Baraka’s involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J., in Black Power movement organizations, and Baraka’s later involvement in Marxism.
Papers of Fannie Lou Hamer: A Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Fannie Lou Hamer was an voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. This primary source collection sourced from the Amistad Research Center contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Provides access to original manuscripts and rare printed material dating back to 1490 on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition. It includes significant coverage of slavery in America, slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.