Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Library Instruction for S100 and S154: Library Activities for S154

What is expertise? Why does it matter?

Library Tools to Help You Find Scholarly and Credible Sources on Careers

 

 

1. OneSearch: OneSearch provides access to the majority of the IU Southeast Library's resources. Rather than searching in IUCAT for books, Academic Search Premier or JSTOR for peer-reviewed journal articles, and Gale Virtual Reference Library for encyclopedia entries, you can do one search in OneSearch and retrieve results for all types of materials.

2. Occupational Outlook Handbook provides comprehensive overviews of hundreds of careers, including salary and educational preparation, about several professions. Do a keyword search to find an article about the career you're interested in.

3. Business Source Complete is a database that contains scholarly and popular articles about business--including research on careers. You can search here to find articles about the career you're interested in. One search you might try is to use the keywords "career satisfaction" along with the career you're researching.

4. Academic Search Premier is a database that contains scholarly and popular articles about many topics in many subject areas. If Business Source Complete does not provide you with useful results, try doing the same search in Academic Search Premier.