Skip to main content

Library Resources for S163 Social Problems: Finding Encyclopedias

This guide lists some basic information resources for Social Problems S163

Why use reference books?

We collect reference books so that you can have access to high-quality, factual information.   Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and almanacs.  Reference books are a good place to go if you need facts, background information on a topic, or statistics.

Reference books do not circulate--that means you cannot check them out--but you are welcome to use them while you're here in the library.  The reference section is located behind the reference desk, which is the desk straight ahead of you once you enter the library.

Specialized Encyclopedias

 In the reference area, you’ll see many specialized encyclopedias that cover a wide variety of subjects. Here are a few examples:

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology : a user's guide to sociological language

Call Number:  REF HM425 .J64 2000

 

Handbook of the sociology of gender

Call Number: REF HQ1075 .C47 1999

 

American Attitudes : what Americans think about the issues that shape their lives

Call Number:  REF HN90.P8 A527 2005

 

Encyclopedia of Global Ghange : environmental change and human society

Call Number:  REF GE149 .E47 2002

 

Status of women in Indiana : politics, economics, health, rights, demographics

Call Number:  REF HQ1438 .I6 S73 2000

 

Encyclopedia of Family Life

 Call Number:  REF HQ534.E53 1999

 

There are also many specialized encyclopedias that are available as electronic books. You can find them listed in IUCAT and use them online.