LibGuides: Library Resources for S163 Social Problems: Finding Articles

Why use periodical articles?

Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.

Why do I have to use a database to find an article?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research databast, full text for 253 "core" journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority jounals. Includes full text for 547 books and conference papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text backfiles of 117 scholarly journals in the fields of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
Proquest Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides the ability to search Proquest databases (ABI/INFORM, Periodicals Archive Online, Dissertations & Theses, etc.) simultaneously.
Video user guides for the Proquest platform are available: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL943D4F9759615B70

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (1915 - 6 months ago)
Journal of the National Academy of the Sciences, covering research in the biological, physical, and social sciences.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in communication, mass media, and related areas. Includes the contents of CommSearch (from the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (from Pennsylvania State University) as well as author profiles of some of the most cited authors in the communication and mass media fields.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes complete full-text of The CQ Researcher and Editorial Research Reports from 1923 to the present.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text access to scholarly education and education-related journals from 1966 to the present. Also includes full-text access to most ERIC documents from 1996 to the present.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Now called APA PsycARTICLES.

Book a Librarian!

There are many ways a librarian can help and many reasons why you might want to meet with us. Here are just some of the reasons to Book a Librarian today:

You need help finding relevant databases for the research you're doing.
You wonder...what the heck is a database?
You need help brainstorming keywords because you aren't having any luck on your initial searches.
You need help understanding what keywords are and how to use them.
You already met with a librarian but you need more help on the same (or a new) research project.
You want to brush up on your research skills and want a general overview to prepare you for the inevitable research paper (duh duh duh!!)