Library Resources for L299: English Literature 1800 to the Present: Find Literary Works

A collection of published letters and diaries from approximately 500 women, spanning from 1500 to 1900. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, and many geographical regions.

An online archive that provides access to the poems, plays, novels, diaries letters, and more of many major British authors, written between 1660-1900. This collection also provides access to rare primary source materials from the medieval and early modern periods, c.1100 to 1660, including letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings and commonplace books.

Contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late 13th to early 20th centuries. Coverage includes dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. Includes works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, as well as numerous lesser known writers.

A comprehensive collection of English poetry from the 8th century to the early 20th.

Provides full-text access to over 675,000 digitized books and journals in the public domain, as well as allows users to search some digitized books and journals still in copyright.
ACCESS NOTE: IUS students, faculty, and staff can log in (select Indiana University as your partner institution) for additional access to digitized books and journals.

Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)

A complete (1929-1991), fully searchable archive of The Listener, the BBC periodical established as the medium for reproducing radio, and later, television programs in print. It also included works by literary notables as W. H. Auden, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster, Philip Larkin, George Orwell, Sylvia Plath, Bertrand Russell, Virginia Woolf and others.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides the full text of rare books, ephemera, maps, and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London, with a focus on its underworld. Themes explored in this collection include political scandals, slang, working class culture, social reform, crime, and justice.

Provides full-text, searchable access to a variety of primary source material--photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, books, newspapers, maps, statistics, and more--created or published between 1801 and 1900. Sub-collections in this resource focus on a variety of different subject areas: diplomacy and cultural exchange between Asia and Western nations; relations between Europe and Africa; British politics and society; science, technology, and medicine (1780-1925); maps and travel; women; religion and spirituality; photography; British theater, music, and literature; European literature (1790-1840); and children's literature and childhood.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Provides access to a large collection of free online books. Project Gutenberg ebooks are available for download on your PC, Kindle, iPad, and smart phones.

Provides full-text access to Punch, an influential magazine of humour and satire published weekly in Britain between 1841-1992.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.

Includes transcriptions of works by lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. Genres include poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, and more.