Home - Resources for M415 - Advertising & Integrated Marketing Communications - LibGuides at Indiana University Southeast

LIbrary Databases and Freely Available Sources for Data & Statistics

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to independent and up-to-date industry research and analysis, covering over 700 industries of the US economy. IBISWorld reports include in-depth analysis of the underlying structures and external economic factors that drive each industry, as well as the interrelationships between those industries.
Note: A video tour of IBISWorld is available here: https://proxyse.uits.iu.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/navigation/. Additional video tutorials are available from IBISWorld Videos.

Market Segmentation

Claritas
Locate and discover market segments, consumer markets, and customer segmentation profiling by zip code.
Tapestry (from ESRI)
Provides demographic and lifestyle information by zip codes in the U.S.

Demographic & Market Data

GSS Data Explorer
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. GSS Data Explorer, from NORC at the University of Chicago, makes it easier than ever to use the data collected by the GSS.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Business & Economic Data

Economic Census (US Census)
The Economic Census profiles U.S. industries every five years. National, state, county, city, and metro area statistics are available.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals, statistics, and databases.
A short YouTube overview of the OECD iLibrary is available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1W6njUrEXaY.
World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Browsable by country, general topic, and indicator.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.
A guide to using Factiva is available: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Offers financial research on companies & industries, including historical and current financial statements for 15,000 U.S. public companies, as well as financial data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies. Information included for companies: EDGAR reports, business descriptions, property, subsidiaries, executives, long-term debt, capital stock, and more.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a number of Value Line's publications covering industry and stock performance and analysis, mutual funds, options and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks.
Click here for a downloadable guide to using Value Line.

Agency Compile
A website for marketers looking to find their next agency partner or simply research the agency landscape.
VAB Insights (formerly Cable Television Advertising Bureau)
VAB Insights provides access to research about today and tomorrow's video ecosystem.

Email Me

Contact:

IU Southeast Library
4201 Grant Line Road
New Albany, IN 47150

812-941-2485