LibGuides: Library Resources for Education Research: Finding Articles

Why use periodical articles?

Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research. You can use periodical articles to support an argument, to explain a topic, or to provide additional perspectives on an issue.

Why do I have to use a database to find an article?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Databases

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

You can search multiple EBSCO databases at once by clicking on "Choose Databases" above the search box.

ERIC you might want to search separately, under the search box in Search Options=>Limit Your Search=>Publication Type, select "Journal Articles."

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text access to scholarly education and education-related journals from 1966 to the present. Also includes full-text access to most ERIC documents from 1996 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to popular magazines suitable for middle and junior high school research. Database includes an image collection and articles include a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to popular magazines for elementary school research, with coverage from 1990 to the present. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.

Finding An Article with a Citation

You've found an article you are interested in locating. You need to see whether or not the Library has that journal full text.

We are going to use the "Full-Text Journals A-Z Search."
Underneath "Find journals by title or ISSN," next to "Title Begins With," type or cut and paste the title of the Journal (not the article title) in the search box.
The results list shows what years of the Journal are covered full-text in different databases, or in Print down on the Library's first floor Journal section. Click on the year you need.
On the Journal's homepage. Look for your year, volume, issue, then pages and article title.