Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use these databases?
These databases are available from the IUS website. They contain primary and secondary documents which may be useful to your research
18th Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, searchable access to thousands of books published in Great Britain and the Americas between 1701 and 1800.
The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of non-fiction works of major African Americans leaders-teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures. Works include monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews, published between the colonial period and 1975.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Declassified primary documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are 29 complete collections.
Early Americas Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Library of Congress Digital Collections (previously called American Memory) This link opens in a new window
At the Library of Congress, Historical Collections for the National Digital Archive. American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Provides research material relating to America from Its discovery to 1926.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Contains a range of influential works reflecting the major trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present. Content includes works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault, and Jean Baudrillard.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Publications and documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements.