LibGuides: Library Resources for FYS: Finding Periodical Articles

Why use scholarly articles?

Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.

Why use a database?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!

Databases

Listed below are selected article databases available through the IUS library. This is not an exhaustive list. To see the full list of database options available, see the article and database page on the library homepage.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, technology, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in communication, mass media, and related areas. Includes the contents of CommSearch (from the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (from Pennsylvania State University) as well as author profiles of some of the most cited authors in the communication and mass media fields.
Gale Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Literary Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; Drama Criticism
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to historical and current research on gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies. Includes articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Includes abstract and indexing information for scholarly and popular journals and government publications about environmental concerns. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text consumer health information, covering topics such as medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with a particular emphasis on nursing and allied health.
Historical New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.
Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides the searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, and business. Access for most journals include issues from Vol. 1 No. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Louisville Courier-Journal Online (via Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text of the Louisville Courier Journal from 1999 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Coverage is international in scope and some bibliographic entries date back to the 1920s.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy from 1940 to the present. Topics covered include esthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and some full-text access to scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Fields covered include cultural studies, economics, education, gender studies, history, political science, literature and literary criticism, visual and performing arts, and many others.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Now called APA PsycARTICLES.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Now called APA PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, social work, sociological theory, violence and many others.
Wall Street Journal (via Factiva) This link opens in a new window
Browsable full-text of the Wall Street Journal, from 2 weeks ago to today's issue.

Note: IU Southeast students, faculty, and staff have access to WSJ.com. Go to IUS WSJ Academic to register for an account (you must use your @iu.edu email address).

My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?

While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?

Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.

If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)

Interlibrary Loan

Subject Guide

Maria Accardi

Email Me

Contact:

LB 217

812-941-2551