LibGuides: Research Resources for IUS Alumni & Local Community Members: Using Databases

Accessing IUS Databases

Almost all of the databases available on the IUS Article & Database Search page (https://libguides.ius.edu/az.php) are available to IUS alumni and community borrowers while in the library. However, due to licensing restrictions, most of these databases are not available in your home, office, or elsewhere. If you are an Indiana resident, you can access numerous databases from home through a program called INSPIRE. Kentucky residents have access to something similar called Kentucky Virtual Library. See below for additional information about these programs.

INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library

"INSPIRE (www.inspire.in.gov) is Indiana's Virtual Library. INSPIRE is a collection of academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents using any computer equipped with an Internet Protocol (IP) address located in Indiana and a Web browser such as Firefox or Internet Explorer."

If you're having problems connecting to INSPIRE from your home computer, you can check out INSPIRE's FAQ (https://www.statelib.lib.in.us/inspire/faq.html) for additional information on how to access these databases.

Databases available through INSPIRE

Academic Search Complete
Provides access to thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines, as well as magazines and newspapers. Coverage dates from 1975 to the present.
Alt HealthWatch
Provides access to alternative health research that focuses holistic medicine and therapies.
Biography Reference Bank
Includes biographies of over 700,000 people from around the world. Profiles are from HW Wilson's Current Biography and World Authors series, with additional content from related full-text articles from other magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source (formerly Biography Reference Center)
Includes biographies of over 400,000 people from around the world. Profiles are from Omnigraphics' Biography Today and Biography series, with additional content from other reference resources.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Provides full-text access to journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system.
Business Source Complete
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides access to consumer-oriented health content to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
EBSCO Management Collection (formerly Corporate ResourceNet)
Provides full-text access to popular and scholarly articles on topics in business, banking, law, finance, management, advertising, human resources and more.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Provides information on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. It offers full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, as well as case studies and company profiles.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text access to scholarly education and education-related journals from 1966 to the present. Also includes full-text access to most ERIC documents from 1996 to the present.
Essay and General Literature Index
Provides access to essays covering a broad range of humanities and social sciences, including literary works, drama, and film. Essays are English-language, published in the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain.
Explora Educator's Edition
Explora Educator's Edition highlights content relevant to K-12 teachers. It includes information on state curriculum standards and provides access to lesson plans from ERIC and other resources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Provides access to a collection of scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the spectrum of film and television studies. This resource includes access to Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and thousands of images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Fonte Acadêmica
Provides full-text coverage of Portuguese-language scholarly content.
Fuente Académica Premier
Provides access to Spanish language scholarly content.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
A general online encyclopedia with over 25,000 records covering a variety of topics.
Health Business FullTEXT
This database provides full-text coverage for nearly 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source - Consumer Edition features searchable full-text for nearly 300 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with a particular emphasis on nursing and allied health.
History Reference Source (formerly History Reference Center)
Provides access to full-text content from history journals, reference books, and some primary source documents.
Hoosier State Chronicles
Provides access to historic newspapers published in Indiana (between 1840-1922).
Humanities Full Text
Provides access to articles from scholarly sources in the humanities. This resource includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
Indiana Memory
Provide access to digitized primary sources about Indiana and its history and culture. Includes digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Provides full-text access to articles, reviews, and other content from many journals & magazines in theater, dance, and the performing arts.
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and more.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Provides access to citations and abstracts from over 600 journals, books, research reports, and proceedings in library science and information management. Subject areas included are librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Literary Reference Plus (Literary Reference Center Plus)
Provides access to a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
Contains biographical essays that reflect coverage of many of the most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author's principal works and current secondary bibliographies. There are also comprehensive essays on specific literary genres, themes and settings.
MasterFILE Complete
Provides full-text access to a collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
MAS Complete
Provides access to hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection
Provides access to a 90-day archive of U.S. regional and international newspapers.
MEDLINE with Full Text
MEDLINE with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 5,6000 current biomedical journals and MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the full text of over 1,400 of those journals.
Middle Search Plus
Provides full-text access to popular magazines suitable for middle and junior high school research. Database includes an image collection and articles include a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Military and Government Collection
Provides access to current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government from a range of information sources.
Newspaper Source Plus
A full-text digital collection of national and world newspapers, newswires, news magazines, and television and radio news transcripts. Contributors include ABC News (American), ABC (Australian), AP (Associated Press), CBC (Canadian), CBS News, CNN Wire, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China).
Newswires
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive.
Play Index
Provides abstract and citation information for thousands of plays dating from 1949 to the present. Also includes nearly 800 monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
Points of View Reference Source (formerly Points of View Reference Center)
Contains resources that present multiple sides of more than 400 controversial subjects. Content for each subject includes an overview (objective background and/or description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Includes materials from political magazines, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Primary Search
Provides full-text access to popular magazines for elementary school research, with coverage from 1990 to the present. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.
Readers' Guide Full Text Select
Provides searchable full text, indexing and abstracts for a broad selection of periodicals.
Referencia Latina
This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Rosetta Stone for Personal Use (Level 1)
Rosetta Stone Level One language-learning courses for 30 different languages, including Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish, and many more.
ACCESS NOTE: Users must create their own username and password for access to Rosetta Stone.
Science Reference Source (formerly Science Reference Center)
Provides access to full-text, science-oriented content, including science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and a collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
Short Story Index
Provides detailed indexing for short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.
Small Business Source (formerly Small Business Reference Center)
Provides full text to a collection of consumer small business reference books, as well as tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.
Social Sciences Full Text
Provides full-text access to sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Teaching Books
Includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with resources selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading activities.
ACCESS NOTE: On the opening screen, you have to choose your affiliation (Other Indiana resident) before continuing to the database.
TOPICsearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full-text for over 78,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full-text periodicals
Vente et Gestion
French language business journals. A tool for both academic and professional researchers, Vente et Gestion provides full-text access to a wide variety of content relevant to business and related subjects, sourced from top French language journals on business and industry.
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides full-text access to trade and industry-related periodicals.
Vocational Studies Premier
Provides access to scholarly content most relevant to vocational programs.

Normal Library Operating Hours

Mon-Thur: 8am-10pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 9am-5pm
Sun:12pm-6pm

Subject to change,
call (812) 941-2485 to confirm.

Not an Indiana Resident?

Many states have a program similar to INSPIRE.

For Kentucky residents, you can request username and password access to the Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) (http://www.kyvl.org/) through your local public library.

See KYVL's FAQ (https://kyvl.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/551) for more information.

JSTOR's Register & Read Program

JSTOR, one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content, announced in March 2012 that it is now offering free, read-online access to individual scholars and researchers who register for a MyJSTOR account through its Register & Read program. (Register & Read participants include approximately 75 journals from more than 40 publishers.)

Content published before 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere is also freely available through JSTOR through their Early Journal Content program.

Start searching: http://www.jstor.org/