LibGuides: H236 America in War: Finding Primary Sources

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred, or well after events occurred. Primary sources may include:

letters
manuscripts
diaries
journals
oral histories
newspapers
speeches
interviews
memoirs
government documents
photographs
audio recordings
video recordings

These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past. When they are used along with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research.

Primary source databases available via IUS Library:

Listed here are the largest and most relevant resources, but depending on your topic, you may find it useful to choose "Databases By Subject" and examine the entire list of History databases. There are smaller and more specific resources in that list which are not included here.

American Memory (now called Library of Congress Digital Collections) This link opens in a new window
Now called Library of Congress Digital Collections.
Note: A small number of American Memory collections are still available on the older platform: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

America's Historical Newspapers
Search for American newspaper articles by subject, date and place of publication, etc.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized newspapers from thirty-seven states, including Indiana and Kentucky, as well as information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. The years available for each newspaper vary, but coverage extends from 1836 to 1922.
A short introduction to using Chronicling America is available: http://edsitement.neh.gov/what-chronicling-america.

CIA FOIA Electronic Reading Room
This site displays frequently-requested documents from the C.I.A. released under the Freedom of Information Act. Categories include human rights, the atom bomb, international espionage, and more.

Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides fully-searchable, cover to cover access of The Economist from 1843 to fifteen years ago. Also includes The Economist's supplements, Special Reports, and Surveys.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Historical New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.
Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.

History of Foreign Relations
Historical documents from the Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State

Library of Congress Digital Collections (previously called American Memory) This link opens in a new window
Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Note: A small number of American Memory collections are still available on the older platform: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive providing full-text, searchable access to the The Times (London) from 1785 through 2019. Includes all articles, advertisements, editorials, illustrations, and photos.
See also Sunday Times (London)
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming videos of national and international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966