It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources for W100 (Tom O'Neal): Finding Periodical Articles
Scholarly articles are a major resource used in academic research. Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field. As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.
Why use a database?
The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles. The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you. That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.
Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you. That's what libraries do!
Listed below are selected article databases available through the IUS library. This is not an exhaustive list. To see the full list of database options available, see the article and database page on the library homepage.
Includes searchable full-text and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on current issues in psychology. PsycARTICLES contains all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.
Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Provides full-text access to journals in communication, mass media, and related areas. Includes the contents of CommSearch (from the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (from Pennsylvania State University) as well as author profiles of some of the most cited authors in the communication and mass media fields.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism of authors from all time periods in numerous genres. Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.
Provides full-text access to historical and current research on gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies. Includes articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Includes abstract and indexing information for scholarly and popular journals and government publications about environmental concerns. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Provides the searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, and business. Access for most journals include issues from Vol. 1 No. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including hundreds of peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Provides full-text current and archival articles from 250+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, social work, sociological theory, violence and many others.
Browsable full-text of the Wall Street Journal, from 2 weeks ago to today's issue.
My database search only gave me a citation. Now what?
While many databases contain the full-text of the article right there, sometimes this won't happen. You may conduct a search and get results that only give you an citation and an abstract. So how do you get from the citation to actually getting the article?
Here's where IUCAT comes in. IUCAT is the library catalog, and it tells you what books we own and what journals we subscribe to. You can conduct a Periodical Title Search in IUCAT to find out what the library's holdings are for any journal. You will search for the journal title, not the name of the article, because all IUCAT knows is whether we have the journal or not. It doesn't know what's contained in the journal.
If you cannot locate the journal you want in IUCAT, or if library's holdings do not include the specific issue you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article. We will ask another library that does have that specific issue to make a copy of the article and send it here for you in PDF format.
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)