Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to Primary Source Databases Available through the Library
American History, 1493-1945
This collection documents over 400 years of American history. Unique manuscript material covers important topics including colonial America, the American Revolution, federalism and American expansion, American Indians, and slavery. Manuscripts are supplemented by a wide range of original maps, engravings, posters, broadsides, pamphlets and rare printed material.
American Periodicals Series Online
Provides searchable full text of all issues of over 1,500 periodicals, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. The majority of content was published between 1740 and 1900.
Gale Primary Sources
Provides the ability to cross-search over twenty primary source collections from Gale. Content in the collections includes newspapers, magazines, and books published between the 17th and 20th century, images and videos from the mid-1800s to the 20th century from the Associated Press, primary source materials that focus on the Americas as well as the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples in North America, and much more.
Historical New York Times with Index
Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2013, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements. Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Includes personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories of immigrants who came to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Full-text access to the letters and diaries of over a thousand North American women, from the 17th century to the present. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Provides a wealth of material about the history of North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica, and the West Indies, with particular emphasis on the history and culture of the United States from 1500-1926. Includes original accounts of exploration, colonization, pioneering, settlement, the American Revolution, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the western movement, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
An online archive of publications and documents focusing on women's activism in American public life between 1600 and 2000. The collection is organized around more than 110 document projects, each posing a new interpretive question and then providing 20 to 50 primary documents that address the question, together with an interpretive introduction and headnotes, bibliography, and related links.