Library Resources for J401: Administrative Policy

Published annually, it provides essential information on the largest businesses, buyers, and the largest employers in Louisville.
Available online through Business First of Louisville. (Below the link to viewing recent issues of Business First of Louisville, click on "View Book of Lists.")

Provides information about Indiana's economic and business climate, including available tax credits, tax information, and information for starting small businesses in Indiana.

Economic profile of Indiana, from the Census Bureau. Scroll down on the page to find an economic profile of the Louisville area or select a different state from the left menu.

Website for the Economic Development Council and Chamber of Commerce for Clark and Floyd Counties. Includes a directory of local businesses .

Louisville's Chamber of Commerce website. Includes a directory of local businesses.

Economic profile of Kentucky, from the Census Bureau. Scroll down on the page to find an economic profile of the Louisville area or select a different state from the left menu.

Provides demographic information for Kentucky, and information for small businesses, from Kentucky's Cabinet for Economic Development.

Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.

From the US Census Bureau, this resource provides information about age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, commute time to work, and more. Updated every year.

Provides access to Census Bureau data, including data on population, economic, education, business, housing, income & poverty, and more.

A collection of resources providing free access to information about business and economic conditions and indicators collected by the U.S. government.

Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.

Provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.

The Economic Census profiles American business every five years, from the national to the local level.

Provides brief economic profiles for states and metro areas, from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes information on consumer spending, tourism activity, business spending, and real estate activity for major US cities.

Provides quarterly employment trends by region and industry sector. Click on the most recent quarter's report on the bottom left of the screen.

Includes estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for metropolitan areas and counties, from the US Bureau of Economic Analysis.

Find instructions for complying with state and local regulations when starting or running a small business in all 50 states.

Provides access to data on small businesses in each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. The publication also provides national-level data and limited data on the U.S. territories. The following topics are covered: the number of firms, demographics of business ownership, small business income, banking, business turnover, industry composition, and employment gains and losses by size of business. Detailed historical data may be found in the Small Business Economy.