Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ars Femina Archive: Home

A collection of sheet music by women composers from before 1800.

Introduction

Ars Femina Archive

This collection is still in the process of collecting items, in the form of microfilm and musical scores, and will eventually contain nearly 3,000 scores of music written by women composers who lived and composed between 1500s and 1800s. The original purpose of this collection was to aid the Ars Femina Ensemble in their pursuit to study and perform music of women composers who lived before the 1800s. The collection contains physical musical scores, and positive and negative microfilm copies of musical work by women composers.   

Ars Femina Ensemble

The Ars Femina Ensemble was formed in 1985 in Louisville Kentucky and is the original creator of the Ars Femina Archives, which is housed at Indiana University Southeast. The mission of the ensemble was to celebrate women's artistry in music through performance and educational outreach. 

Ars Femina Archive Finding Aid and Content List on Archives Online

Ars Femina Ensemble Recordings Held at IU Southeast Library

Music from the IU Southeast Archives Concerts 2020

These concerts were funded by a Regional Research/Creativity Initiative Grant from IU Southeast written by Veronica Palensky and Melanie Hughes. The concerts were with the community partner Floyd County Library.

Music from the IU Southeast Archives: Women in Music

Originally presented on August 26th
Women's Equality Day
Virtual Location: Floyd County Library's Facebook Page

Music from the IU Southeast Archives: Ars Femina Archive

Originally Presented on September 25th, 2020
Josephine von Aurnhammer's Birthday
Virtual Location: Floyd County Public's Facebook Page

Presentations on the Ars Femina Archive

Palensky, V. (2020). Representing Women Composers through Digital Archives. Poster presentation at the 2020 Annual Meeting for Society of
American Archivists, Chicago IL. https://files.archivists.org/conference/2020/posters/P20.pdf

Palensky, V. (2020). Representing Women Composers through Digital Archives. Lecture presented at the Indiana University’s Digital Library Brown Bag Series, Bloomington IN. https://scholarworks.iu.edu/dspace/handle/2022/25803

About the Ars Femina Ensemble

Interviews with Founding Members

Librarian, Campus Archivist, Liaison to Education

Archival Intern