LibGuides: Business BUS-X 220 and X 410 Career &amp; Company Research: Companies and Industries

NAICS and SIC Codes

NAICS Code
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced Nakes) was developed as the standard for use by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the collection, analysis, and publication of statistical data.
SIC Code Manual
The Standard Industrial Classification has been replaced by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). "The SIC system was last revised in 1987... many databases still include it as part of their indexing. In some cases, [for example] retail, using SIC codes is better or more efficient than using NAICS codes" - LOC.gov

more... less...

"The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code system has been used since the 1930s. It was developed by the Interdepartmental Committee on Industrial Statistics, established by the Central Statistical Board of the United States who developed the List of Industries for manufacturing, published in 1938, and the 1939 List of Industries for non-manufacturing industries, which became the first Standard Industrial Classification for the United States. The SIC system was last revised in 1987 and while it was last used by the Census Bureau for the 1992 Economic Census, many databases still include it as part of their indexing. In some cases, particularly when it comes to retail, using SIC codes is better or more efficient than using NAICS codes." Library of Congress (https://guides.loc.gov/industry-research/classification-sic)

Use Business Source Complete to find SWOT analyses of companies in their MarketLine Reports, under More => Company Profiles.

Business Source Elite (formerly Business Source Complete)

Provides full-text access to scholarly and popular business journals. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.
Mergent Market Atlas (replaces Mergent Online)
Detailed information including company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors, and more. Also includes company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. NOTE: Mergent Market Atlas is the replacement product for Mergent Online, which retired on June 30, 2025.

Buzzfile
Provides access to a list of employers (by state) who hire employees in each major (accounting, sociology, fine arts, etc.)

Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY) Online (via Proquest)
Full-text access to the Louisville Courier-Journal from 2002 to the present. Provides access to news on local businesses, industries, and more.
Factiva
Excellent news and business coverage. Use the Companies/Markets Tab to look up stock symbols and find company information.

A guide to using Factiva is available: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva.
MarketLine Reports
Business Source Complete is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Company Profiles are provided by MarketLine Reports.
One Mail Instructions
If you registered for a MyEBSCO account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your MyEBSCO account.
2. From the MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account. (You may be asked to sign in again.)
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu.
4. Press Save.

Email Me

Subjects: children's literature, education