LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: C

Finding Information

C

C19, the Nineteenth Century Index
An index of virtually all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States, as well as all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English published from the beginning of the 19th century to the end of World War I. Includes Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalog (NCSTC), Palmers Index to the Times, and Palmers Full Text.
Caribbean Literature
Provides access to 19th and 20th century Caribbean poetry and fiction written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Center for Cultural Resources (CCR) at Indiana University Southeast
Provides access to information about the Center for Cultural Resources' collection of resource kits which provide instructional resources and lesson plans designed for thematic, interactive and realistic learning. Each kit is organized to teach a core of 12 universal themes on unity and diversity.
Chatham House Online Archive
Provides access to the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference.
ChemSpider
A free online database of millions of chemical structures and their associated information. Includes information freely available on the web as well as links to subscription databases of chemical structures, some of which IUS has access to.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange, 1648-1997
This collection covers the North American trade and cultural exchange with China throughout the 18th and 19th centuries as well as China’s economic dealings with East Asia and the Pacific in this time.
China: Culture and Society
Provides access to pamphlets written by diplomats, merchants, academics, and travelers working in or passing through China between c1750-1929 and other materials from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. Topics covered include colonial rule, literature, education, politics, religion and everyday life in China.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Provides access to unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China between the 18th and 20th Centuries. This collection also includes additional original source materials from China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793 to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
Chronicle of Higher Education (Online)

Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; an archive of previously published content; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases.

Published online every weekday, source of news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
For more information on how to access the Chronicle go to The Chronicle @ IUS
One Mail Instructions
If you chose to register for a personal account using your ius.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account.
1. Log in to your Chronicle account and go to “My Account.”
2. In the Profile & Settings section, click the “edit” link for the Email field
3. Enter your iu.edu email address in the “New email” and “Confirm new email” fields and click the Update Email button.
4. Follow instructions from the email received with the subject line “The Chronicle: Request to change email address” to complete the email change process.
AI Research Tool
Our subscription includes access to the Ask Chron AI research assistant. This tool is in beta, and may be removed from the Chronicle without advance notice.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Contains digitized newspapers from thirty-seven states, including Indiana and Kentucky, as well as information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. The years available for each newspaper vary, but coverage extends from 1836 to 1922.

A short introduction to using Chronicling America is available: http://edsitement.neh.gov/what-chronicling-america.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
This resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text---No Longer an IU Southeast Resource. See Notes Below.
IU Southeast Library no longer subscribes to CINAHL. Please use Nursing & Allied Health as an alternative (https://libguides.ius.edu/nurseandallied). The CINAHL link will redirect to Nursing & Allied Health.
Civil War (American): Letters and Diaries
See American Civil War: Letters and Diaries.
Colonial America
This collection documents the early history of the colonies, and includes founding charters, material on the effects of 1688’s Glorious Revolution in North America, military material from the French and Indian War of 1756-63, and source materials covering the social and political protest that led to the Declaration of Independence and the upheavals of the 1770s and 1780s.
Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels (Underground and Independent)
See Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels.
Condition of Education
Provides access to statistical indicators and analyses describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.
Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
A collection of searchable primary source materials covering political life in Western Europe during World War II. Information on both occupied states (including Belgium, France, the Netherlands, and the Vatican), and neutral countries (including Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland) is included. Source materials include intelligence reports and summaries, leaflets, newspaper articles, and film footage of Special Operations Executive (SOE) agents in France from the Imperial War Museum.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
This collection provides access to documents from the British government focusing on European colonization of Africa, and covers coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, the Conference of Berlin of 1884, the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa, and colonial moves towards independence.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
This collection provides access to documents from the British government focusing on South American countries, and covers revolutions, territorial changes, political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
This collection provides access to documents from the British government focusing on the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Events covered include the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
Provides access to the Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb.
Connected Histories
A collection of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain.
ACCESS NOTE: Some full text may not be available as IU Southeast does not a subscription for that content.
Core Assessments for Educator Licensure
Includes resources for Core Academic Skills Assessment (CASA) and Developmental and Content Area Tests.
County Business Patterns
Provides subnational economic data by industry. This resource is updated annually by the US Census, and can be useful for studying the economic activity of small areas, analyzing economic changes over time, and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY) Online (via Proquest)

Full-text access to the Louisville Courier-Journal from 2002 to the present.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Includes complete full-text of The CQ Researcher and Editorial Research Reports from 1923 to the present.
Curriki: K-12 Open Curricula Community
Offers free and open lesson plans and learning resources that have been classroom tested. Resources are searchable by grade level/age range, subject, and type of resource.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.

IUS Databases A-Z: C

Finding Information

C

One Mail Instructions

AI Research Tool

Ask a Librarian

Featured Database