LibGuides: Library Resources for W290 Reynolds: Newspapers

Why are newspapers separate?

*Newspaper articles can be either a primary or a secondary source. For example, when a newspaper article initially reports on an event, the newspaper serves as a primary source. When a newspaper article reflects back on an event, it is a secondary source.

Primary source databases available via IUS Library:

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of numerous 19th century newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Subjects covered in this collection include the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life and culture.
British Library Newspapers (1732-1950) This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital archive of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Historical New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2014, including all advertisements, images, photographs, and supplements.
Use the Advanced Search option to access the Index (1851-1993), and limit your search to a specific company or organization, creative work (book or movie), location, person, or subject.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of newspapers and news pamphlets published mostly in London. Also includes some English provincial newspapers as well as Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.
Coverage: 1600 to 1800 - Updates vary

Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users