LibGuides: Library Resources for L335 & L680: Victorian Literature: Find Author Information

Reference Section

The Reference Section of the Library is on on the Main (Second Floor) behind the Reference Desk (and Reference Librarian on duty to answer your questions.)

The Reference Section is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification system, the same as the Stacks upstairs on the Third Floor. The call numbers start with letters, and you will be able to browse the shelves to find similar books on any given subject. If you find a call number area that is useful in the Reference section, you can go upstairs and check the Stacks to see if there are additional books that you can check out.

(Note: The Reference books normally do not circulate, but the Reference Librarian may occasionally make an exception and allow you to take a book home overnight. There are photocopiers and scanners nearby to get the information you need from the Reference books.)

Use IUCAT to find specific books in the reference collection.

Reference Resources about Victorian Authors

The following resources provide biographical information about British authors. Many of these resources also provide an historical context for the time period in which the author was writing.

The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
Presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source. The key attractions are entries on writers, entries on individual works, Biblical and mythological characters and events, literary and critical terms and movements, and entries describing historical, cultural and social events.

Charles Dickens by Michael Slater
Call Number: Online Book (unlimited simultaneous users)
ISBN: 9780300112078
Publication Date: 2009-11-10
A Companion to Thomas Hardy by Keith Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Online Book (unlimited simultaneous users)
ISBN: 9781118307496
Publication Date: 2012-11-28

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Now called Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.

A Dictionary of Writers and their Works (3rd Edition)
A quick guide to authors and their works that focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present. There is also some coverage of non-fiction such as biographies, memoirs, and science, as well as inclusion of major American and Commonwealth writers.

Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly, authoritative, and critical overview of Victorian literature and theory. It includes in-depth essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, as well as succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of some of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.
Gale Literature: Something About The Author This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all volumes of Something About the Author (1971-present) and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series (1985-present).
Note: The ability to cross-search Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, & Gale Literature: Something About The Author is available on the Gale Literature platform.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature (7th Edition)
This guide provides the reader with coverage of all aspects of English literature.

Something About The Author This link opens in a new window
Now called Gale Literature: Something About The Author.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, open-access online encyclopedia covering a full range of philosophical topics.

Associate Librarian

Kate Ziady

she, her

Email Me

Subjects: business, economics, finance