Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indiana University Libraries Online Catalog: IUCAT
IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Searches for books, journals, DVDs, government documents and more available at IUS and all other IU campuses. (You can request that books from other IU campuses be delivered to the IUS Library. Ask at the reference desk if you have any questions!)
IUCAT is the library catalog. This is the tool that tells you what the library owns and where it is located.
If you are searching for a specific item, you can do a title or author search. If you don't have a specific item in mind, search by keyword. Think about your topic and come up with some terms and concepts associated with your topic. You can use AND to combine your terms. For example, you would not want to use "violence in gothic literature" for your keyword search. Instead, try something like "violence and gothic literature."
To find online books only, make sure the Online Only box is checked (under the search box).
To find print books only, change the pull-down Location to Circulating, Stacks.
Books about the Victorian Era
The following resources provide information on family life, gender roles, culture, politics, and more in Victorian England.
Blackwell Companions to Literature and Culture : New Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture
Divided into five parts, this new companion surveys seven decades of history before examining the keys phases in a Victorian life, the leading professions and walks of life, the major Victorian literary genres, and the way Victorians defined their persons, their homes, and their national identities. Important topics such as sexuality, denominational faith, social class, and global empire inform each chapter’s approach. Each chapter provides a comprehensive bibliography of established and emerging scholarship.
Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly, authoritative, and critical overview of Victorian literature and theory. It includes in-depth essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, as well as succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.
Journal of Victorian Culture
This journal focuses on society, culture, and the material world in the Victorian era, including: literature, art, performance, politics, science, medicine, technology, lived experience, and ideas.
IU Southeast has access to issues from 1998-18 months ago
London Low Life : Street Culture, Social Reform and the Victorian Underworld This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of rare books, ephemera, maps, and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London, with a focus on its underworld. Themes explored in this collection include political scandals, slang, working class culture, social reform, crime, and justice.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to primary source materials for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A.
Victorian Studies (Journal)
Victorian Studies, which began publication in 1956, is devoted to the study of English culture of the Victorian period. It includes interdisciplinary articles on comparative literature, social and political history, and the histories of education, philosophy, fine arts, economics, law, and science.
Issues from 1957-2012 are available on the JSTOR
The Victorian Web
Includes primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts.