LibGuides: IUS Databases A-Z: #

Finding Information

#

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
A full-text archive of newspapers and news pamphlets published mostly in London. Also includes some English provincial newspapers as well as Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.
Coverage: 1600 to 1800 - Updates vary

Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection
A full-text digital archive of newspapers, periodicals, and pamphlets published in the 17th and 18th centuries.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
John Nichols (1745–1826) was a London printer and avid collector of newspapers, which he used to inform his literary and historical research work. The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets that he collected.
Originally bound in 96 volumes, of which number 14 (July 1705-July 1708) and 90 (Jan-April 1736) no longer exist, the collection was later re-bound into the present 296 volumes by splitting each volume in three or four parts labelled A through D. The newspapers cover the political history between the reign of Charles II and the Age of Walpole, and cover a variety of subjects.
Coverage: 1672-1737
Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users
18th Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Full-text to thousands of books published in Great Britain and the Americas between 1701 and 1800.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
The database contains more than 32 million pages of text and more than 205,000 individual volumes in all. In addition, ECCO natively supports OCR-based full-text searching of this corpus.
Coverage: 18th century
Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users
18th Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage
Archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824 in the UK. Also included are hundreds of documents that provide social context, such as playbills, correspondence of major theatrical figures, set designs and actor portraits, financial and legal documents surrounding the business of theaters.
Eighteenth Century Drama features three distinct areas:
1) Primary source documents; the focus of which is the Larpent collection of plays and Anna Larpent's Diaries
John Larpent was the English Inspector of Plays from 1778-1824 and responsible for executing the Licensing Act of 1737, a landmark act of censorship which required the Lord Chamberlain's office to approve any play before it was staged. The main focus of Eighteenth Century Drama is the John Larpent plays from the Huntington Library; this is the collection of plays that Larpent preserved from the original licence submissions. There are over 2,500 plays which make up the majority of the collection. Also included are the diaries of Larpent's wife and professional collaborator Anna, recording her criticisms of plays as well as insights into theatrical culture and English society. The resource also features correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisement, historical information, and visual material.
2) The London Stage Database
The companion text, The London Stage 1660-1800, which lists every traceable performance staged between 1660-1800, has been made available as a searchable database. The information from this database has been used to power the text analysis tool, The London Stage Data Associations, in order to illustrate trends within and between theatres, across years, between works performed, roles enacted and actors included in The London Stage. Users can also view The London Stage in its original printed format.
3) The Biographical Dictionary Database
The companion text, A Biographical Dictionary of Actors etc. 1660-1800, has also been made available as a searchable database.
Coverage: 1660-1800
Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users
Eighteenth Century Fiction
A collection of English novels published between 1700–1780 by influential and important writers from the British Isles, including Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne, and Jonathan Swift.
Includes the works of 30 of the most influential writers of the British Isles in the eighteenth century. It contains 77 collected works or 96 discrete items, of which 71 are first editions.
The aim of the database is not to be definitive, but to provide a representative selection of texts from the eighteenth century; both those familiar to the modern reader and those popular when first published. The database gathers as complete a corpus as possible for the major authors of the period, such as Fielding, Richardson, Defoe, Sterne and Smollett. The strong representation of female authors and lesser-known writers augments this corpus, thereby providing a thorough and balanced collection.
Coverage: 18th century - Updates vary
Simultaneous User Limit: Unlimited simultaneous users
18th Century Journals Portal
Provides access to eighteenth century periodicals and newspapers, published between 1685 and 1835. Themes include social structure, colonialism and empire, economics, science, fashion, literature, politics, religion and slavery.
19th Century British Newspapers
Now called British Library Newspapers.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Provides full-text, searchable access to a variety of primary source material--photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, books, newspapers, maps, statistics, and more--created or published between 1801 and 1900. Sub-collections in this resource focus on a variety of different subject areas: diplomacy and cultural exchange between Asia and Western nations; relations between Europe and Africa; British politics and society; science, technology, and medicine (1780-1925); maps and travel; women; religion and spirituality; photography; British theater, music, and literature; European literature (1790-1840); and children's literature and childhood.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
19th Century Index
Provides citations to nineteenth century (1800s) books, official documents, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to the full-text of numerous 19th century newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Subjects covered in this collection include the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life and culture.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
A digital collection of nineteenth-century periodicals covering a wide range of topics, including culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and nineteenth-century professions.
Note: The ability to cross-search multiple primary source collections from the provider Gale is now available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
20th Century American Poetry
Includes 50,000 poems by over 300 poets from the modernist period to more contemporary works. Major movements of the century are represented, including underground literature by the Beat poets, influential feminist works, and the works by the confessional poets.
20th Century North American Drama
Contains plays written from the late 1800s to the present by playwrights from North America as well as detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Ask a Librarian

A Research Librarian is available to answer your questions:

In Person or by Phone: Ask to speak with a librarian in person at the Service Desk or call us at 812-941-2485. We’ll work with you to find the resources you need.

Ask us through email

Library Hours

We are available when the Library is open.

Featured Database

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
This collection features primary source materials covering themes such as popular entertainment, consumer culture and mass media, and includes a diverse mixture of topics from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.